Skip to main content
AI Choice Engine
← All AI code review tools

Gitar

Gitar

Gitar is a Gitar pull-request reviewer on GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, billed as hybrid, last verified October 1, 2026. A reviewer that treats a red build as the job: comments, then fixes, then re-runs CI. Distinct from comment-only bots.

Catalog record checked October 1, 2026; vendor pricing and policies can change.

Gitar specification
SpecificationGitar
VendorGitar
Git hostsGitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps
SurfacePR review plus CI fix loop
Billing modelHybrid
Hourly / throughputEnterprise no rate limit; Core/Pro limits unpublished
Trial14-day Pro trial, no credit card required. The current vendor source does not specify trial-specific per-user review or CI-fix allowances.
Config / rulesNatural-language repository rules under `.gitar/`; the product page shows `.gitar/rules/brand.md` as an example
Inline comment capNot verifiedUnverified
Self-hosted optionNot verifiedUnverified
CI hostsGitHub Actions, GitLab Pipelines, CircleCI (Pro), Buildkite (Pro), Bitrise (Pro), Harness, TeamCity, Jenkins
AutofixSupported with conditions
Merge gateSupported with conditions
Free for qualifying OSSYes
HybridFree for qualifying OSS

Gitar

A reviewer that treats a red build as the job: comments, then fixes, then re-runs CI. Distinct from comment-only bots.

Best for

  • Teams that want CI failure analysis next to the review
  • Orgs evaluating supervised bot fixes and CI verification
  • GitHub or GitLab shops evaluating a Sonar-owned reviewer

Watch out

Core/Pro are capped at 50 users; Enterprise allows unlimited users and is priced by PR outcome, with unlimited iterations per PR. The vendor says Enterprise has no rate limits; it does not publish a Core/Pro automatic-review allowance on the sources checked. Merge blocking is Pro, not Core. Gitar supports GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, including self-hosted code-hosting instances; this does not establish that the Gitar service itself runs on-premises.

How a review works. The vendor describes codebase-aware review with proposed or applied fixes and CI verification under user-defined rules. Automatic recovery can attempt a follow-up fix; a green pipeline is a workflow goal, not a guaranteed outcome. Pro adds auto-approve, merge blocking and auto-apply. Core includes GitHub Actions / GitLab pipeline failure analysis; Pro adds CircleCI, Buildkite, and Bitrise. Repository rules live under `.gitar/`; a skip-label command was not confirmed in the sources reviewed.

Pricing (verified). Core $20/user/month billed annually ($25 monthly); Pro $40/user/month billed annually ($50 monthly); both capped at 50 users. Enterprise is custom and outcome-based per PR, with unlimited users, custom agreements, bring-your-own Anthropic key, and support for self-hosted code-hosting systems. Pricing now lives on sonarsource.com. 14-day Pro trial, no card. Public GitHub/GitLab repos with an OSI-approved licence can apply for free Pro features. PR summaries are included in Core and higher plans. Merge blocking is Pro, not Core.

Hourly / throughput. The current vendor page says Enterprise has no rate limits and charges by PR outcome, with unlimited iterations per PR. Core and Pro have published per-user prices and 50-user ceilings, but the current pricing/docs pages reviewed do not state their automatic-review or CI-fix allowance. No separate manual-review or REST API request quota was found in those sources.

Trial. 14-day Pro trial, no credit card required. The current vendor source does not specify trial-specific per-user review or CI-fix allowances.

Watch out. Core/Pro are capped at 50 users; Enterprise allows unlimited users and is priced by PR outcome, with unlimited iterations per PR. The vendor says Enterprise has no rate limits; it does not publish a Core/Pro automatic-review allowance on the sources checked. Merge blocking is Pro, not Core. Gitar supports GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, including self-hosted code-hosting instances; this does not establish that the Gitar service itself runs on-premises.

Common questions

Questions about Gitar

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

What is Gitar?
A reviewer that treats a red build as the job: comments, then fixes, then re-runs CI. Distinct from comment-only bots. It reviews on GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps as pr review plus ci fix loop.
How does Gitar price reviews?
Core $20/user/month billed annually ($25 monthly); Pro $40/user/month billed annually ($50 monthly); both capped at 50 users. Enterprise is custom and outcome-based per PR, with unlimited users, custom agreements, bring-your-own Anthropic key, and support for self-hosted code-hosting systems. Pricing now lives on sonarsource.com. 14-day Pro trial, no card. Public GitHub/GitLab repos with an OSI-approved licence can apply for free Pro features. PR summaries are included in Core and higher plans. Merge blocking is Pro, not Core.
What is the hourly or throughput limit for Gitar?
The current vendor page says Enterprise has no rate limits and charges by PR outcome, with unlimited iterations per PR. Core and Pro have published per-user prices and 50-user ceilings, but the current pricing/docs pages reviewed do not state their automatic-review or CI-fix allowance. No separate manual-review or REST API request quota was found in those sources.
Is there a trial for Gitar?
14-day Pro trial, no credit card required. The current vendor source does not specify trial-specific per-user review or CI-fix allowances.
Does Gitar autofix or block merges?
Autofix: Yes. Merge gate: Yes. The vendor describes codebase-aware review with proposed or applied fixes and CI verification under user-defined rules. Automatic recovery can attempt a follow-up fix; a green pipeline is a workflow goal, not a guaranteed outcome. Pro adds auto-approve, merge blocking and auto-apply. Core includes GitHub Actions / GitLab pipeline failure analysis; Pro adds CircleCI, Buildkite, and Bitrise. Repository rules live under `.gitar/`; a skip-label command was not confirmed in the sources reviewed.
What is the catch with Gitar?
Core/Pro are capped at 50 users; Enterprise allows unlimited users and is priced by PR outcome, with unlimited iterations per PR. The vendor says Enterprise has no rate limits; it does not publish a Core/Pro automatic-review allowance on the sources checked. Merge blocking is Pro, not Core. Gitar supports GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps, including self-hosted code-hosting instances; this does not establish that the Gitar service itself runs on-premises.