Skip to main content
AI Choice Engine

AI code review

Compare PR reviewers before you add another GitHub App

AI Choice Engine compares GitHub-app and bundled PR reviewers on billing, throughput, git hosts, autofix, merge gates, and dated caveats. Unverified prices stay labelled. The Cursor editor itself is compared with the coding tools.

Newest profile source check . Each product retains its own check date below.

These products comment on pull requests. They are not coding harnesses. Compare Cursor, Claude Code, and Copilot as editors/agents, then come back here if you still need a dedicated reviewer. They also sit on top of model APIs — for the models themselves see model comparisons, and for task-first buying advice see AI guides. Other dedicated reviewers (for example Sourcery and Ellipsis) are not in this catalog yet.

  • CodeRabbit
    Hosts
    GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps
    Billing
    Per seat
    Hourly / throughput
    5–12/hour on paid plans (per developer)
    Autofix
    Supported with conditions
    Merge gate
    Supported with conditions
    Verified price

    Essentials (formerly Pro) $24/user/month billed annually ($30 month-to-month); Team (formerly Pro Plus) $48/user/month billed annually ($60 month-to-month). Advanced adds blast-radius and architectural-impact analysis, security review on every PR, and continuous security monitoring; its current price was not visible in the public source capture. Enterprise is custom. All plans advertise a 14-day free trial with no card. Seats are billed for developers who create PRs, or assigned manually. Public repositories have free reviews with separate eligibility and usage limits. CodeRabbit Security Scan is usage-based; CodeRabbit Agent is $0.40 per agent minute; eligible over-limit reviews can continue at $0.25 per reviewed file.

  • Qodo
    Hosts
    GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, Gerrit (on-premises)
    Billing
    Hybrid
    Hourly / throughput
    Credits + spending cap (no hourly PR meter)
    Autofix
    Not verified
    Merge gate
    Not verified
    Verified price

    Pro Team uses pooled workspace credits, not per-seat billing: $0.012/credit, with a $30 2,500-credit pack (~18 reviews/month by Qodo's estimate); 5,000 and 20,000 credits are estimated at ~36/~144 reviews. The pricing page markets Pro Team for up to 30 users and Enterprise for 30+, while the billing docs describe unlimited Pro Teams users; confirm the selected workspace's entitlement. Monthly billing, no annual self-serve commitment. Credits expire monthly without rollover; overage uses the same credit rate up to a customer-set cap. The 14-day trial has unlimited credits and no card. Enterprise adds SSO, BYOK, single-tenant or on-premises deployment. No permanent free tier; qualified OSS projects can apply for free access.

  • Greptile
    Hosts
    GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket (confirm deployment scope), Cursor Origin (vendor-listed; integration scope not specified), GitHub Enterprise Server (Enterprise), GitLab Self-Managed (Enterprise), Bitbucket Data Center (Enterprise), Gitea (Enterprise), Perforce P4 (Enterprise)
    Billing
    Hybrid
    Hourly / throughput
    Credits, not hourly
    Autofix
    Not verified
    Merge gate
    Not verified
    Verified price

    Starter: free, 1 active developer, 50 credits/month. Pro: $30/seat/month, 50 credits included per seat, then $1 per extra credit. Review tiers: Base (1 credit), Plus (3 credits), Apex (10 credits). A seat is any developer who received a Greptile review in that billing period. 14-day Pro trial. Free for qualified MIT/Apache non-commercial OSS. 50% off for pre-Series A startups under $2M trailing-12-month revenue.

  • Gitar
    Hosts
    GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps
    Billing
    Hybrid
    Hourly / throughput
    Enterprise no rate limit; Core/Pro limits unpublished
    Autofix
    Supported with conditions
    Merge gate
    Supported with conditions
    Verified price

    Core $20/user/month billed annually ($25 monthly); Pro $40/user/month billed annually ($50 monthly); both capped at 50 users. Enterprise is custom and outcome-based per PR, with unlimited users, custom agreements, bring-your-own Anthropic key, and support for self-hosted code-hosting systems. Pricing now lives on sonarsource.com. 14-day Pro trial, no card. Public GitHub/GitLab repos with an OSI-approved licence can apply for free Pro features. PR summaries are included in Core and higher plans. Merge blocking is Pro, not Core.

  • Graphite
    Hosts
    GitHub
    Billing
    Per seat
    Hourly / throughput
    Limited Hobby/Starter; unlimited Team/Enterprise
    Autofix
    Not verified
    Merge gate
    Not verified
    Verified price

    Hobby is free for personal repositories with limited AI reviews; the current pricing and billing pages do not publish a numeric free-review allowance. Starter is $20/seat/month billed annually with limited AI reviews; Team is $40/seat/month billed annually with unlimited AI reviews; Enterprise is custom. The Team-plan trial lasts 30 days or until upgrade, whichever comes first. Suggested fixes and CI summaries are listed for Team/Enterprise, not every paid plan.

  • GitHub Copilot code review
    Hosts
    GitHub, Azure DevOps (public preview)
    Billing
    Bundled with another product
    Hourly / throughput
    AI credits + Actions minutes
    Autofix
    Supported with conditions
    Merge gate
    Not verified
    Verified price

    Bundled with Copilot plans that include code review (Pro lists access to cloud agent and code review, with $15 monthly credits on Pro). Licensed-user review draws from the Copilot allowance. Orgs can enable review on PRs from people without a Copilot seat; that usage bills as GitHub AI Credits. From 2026-06-01, code-review workflows also consume GitHub Actions minutes.

  • Cursor Bugbot
    Hosts
    GitHub (including GHES), GitLab (including self-hosted), Bitbucket (including Data Center), Azure DevOps Services (public beta), Cursor Origin (documented autofix modes)
    Billing
    Usage-based
    Hourly / throughput
    Usage-based; API 30–60 req/min
    Autofix
    Supported with conditions
    Merge gate
    Supported with conditions
    Verified price

    Usage-based since the May 2026 change (legacy $40/seat plans renew onto usage billing after 2026-06-08). Individuals consume included usage then on-demand; Teams bill from on-demand spend. Cursor's May 2026 blog gives a $1.00–$1.50 average run cost depending on PR size; this is a vendor average, not a fixed list price. Cursor's current pricing page lists Pro at $20/month and Teams at $40/user/month, with Bugbot on usage-based billing. Confirm current run rates at cursor.com/pricing#bugbot. 14-day free trial on the product page.

  • Claude Code Review
    Hosts
    GitHub, GitHub Enterprise Server (self-hosted)
    Billing
    Usage-based
    Hourly / throughput
    Token-billed; admin monthly caps
    Autofix
    Not verified
    Merge gate
    No
    Verified price

    Research preview on Claude Team and Enterprise plans. Billed separately through usage credits by tokens — it does not count against the plan's included usage. Anthropic's stated average is $15–25 per review; admins can set monthly spend caps. Not available with zero data retention.

  • OpenAI Codex code review
    Hosts
    GitHub
    Billing
    Bundled with another product
    Hourly / throughput
    Codex plan limits
    Autofix
    Supported with conditions
    Merge gate
    Not verified
    Verified price

    Requires eligible cloud GitHub-review access. Codex Cloud is available to eligible Plus, all Pro tiers, Business, Enterprise, Healthcare, and Education accounts, subject to rollout and workspace settings; it is not included with Free or Go. Review usage draws on the account's Codex allowance, workspace credits or applicable Enterprise token-based USD agreement. An API-key sign-in does not unlock cloud GitHub review.

  • Devin Review
    Hosts
    GitHub (incl. Enterprise Server and Enterprise Cloud), GitLab (incl. Self-Managed), Azure DevOps Services / Server 2020–2022 (connected)
    Billing
    Usage-based
    Hourly / throughput
    Usage-based (ACUs / on-demand spend)
    Autofix
    Not verified
    Merge gate
    Not verified
    Verified price

    Enterprise reviews draw ACUs from the shared enterprise pool; Individual/Teams automatic-review caps are measured in on-demand dollars. The XS (≤2.25 ACUs) to XL (>18 ACUs) indicator describes total usage across all review jobs on a PR, not a fixed price for one review. Public PRs can be viewed without an account, but unconnected public repos cannot use auto-review. No per-ACU dollar price is published in the review docs.

Head to head

Comparisons buyers actually search

CodeRabbit, Qodo, Greptile, and Gitar sit in the same matrix as Graphite, GitHub Copilot code review, and Cursor Bugbot. Rankings are not bought; unverified prices stay labelled.

vs

CodeRabbit vs Qodo

GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps / GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps · Gerrit (on-premises)

vs

CodeRabbit vs Greptile

GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps / GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket (confirm deployment scope) · Cursor Origin (vendor-listed; integration scope not specified) · GitHub Enterprise Server (Enterprise) · GitLab Self-Managed (Enterprise) · Bitbucket Data Center (Enterprise) · Gitea (Enterprise) · Perforce P4 (Enterprise)

vs

CodeRabbit vs Gitar

GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps / GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps

vs

CodeRabbit vs Graphite

GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps / GitHub

vs

Gitar vs Graphite

GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps / GitHub

vs

Cursor Bugbot vs Graphite

GitHub (including GHES) · GitLab (including self-hosted) · Bitbucket (including Data Center) · Azure DevOps Services (public beta) · Cursor Origin (documented autofix modes) / GitHub

vs

CodeRabbit vs GitHub Copilot code review

GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps / GitHub · Azure DevOps (public preview)

vs

CodeRabbit vs Cursor Bugbot

GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps / GitHub (including GHES) · GitLab (including self-hosted) · Bitbucket (including Data Center) · Azure DevOps Services (public beta) · Cursor Origin (documented autofix modes)

vs

Gitar vs Greptile

GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps / GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket (confirm deployment scope) · Cursor Origin (vendor-listed; integration scope not specified) · GitHub Enterprise Server (Enterprise) · GitLab Self-Managed (Enterprise) · Bitbucket Data Center (Enterprise) · Gitea (Enterprise) · Perforce P4 (Enterprise)

vs

Gitar vs Qodo

GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps / GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps · Gerrit (on-premises)

vs

Greptile vs Qodo

GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket (confirm deployment scope) · Cursor Origin (vendor-listed; integration scope not specified) · GitHub Enterprise Server (Enterprise) · GitLab Self-Managed (Enterprise) · Bitbucket Data Center (Enterprise) · Gitea (Enterprise) · Perforce P4 (Enterprise) / GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps · Gerrit (on-premises)

vs

Cursor Bugbot vs Gitar

GitHub (including GHES) · GitLab (including self-hosted) · Bitbucket (including Data Center) · Azure DevOps Services (public beta) · Cursor Origin (documented autofix modes) / GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps

vs

Cursor Bugbot vs Greptile

GitHub (including GHES) · GitLab (including self-hosted) · Bitbucket (including Data Center) · Azure DevOps Services (public beta) · Cursor Origin (documented autofix modes) / GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket (confirm deployment scope) · Cursor Origin (vendor-listed; integration scope not specified) · GitHub Enterprise Server (Enterprise) · GitLab Self-Managed (Enterprise) · Bitbucket Data Center (Enterprise) · Gitea (Enterprise) · Perforce P4 (Enterprise)

vs

Cursor Bugbot vs GitHub Copilot code review

GitHub (including GHES) · GitLab (including self-hosted) · Bitbucket (including Data Center) · Azure DevOps Services (public beta) · Cursor Origin (documented autofix modes) / GitHub · Azure DevOps (public preview)

vs

GitHub Copilot code review vs Qodo

GitHub · Azure DevOps (public preview) / GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps · Gerrit (on-premises)

vs

Claude Code Review vs CodeRabbit

GitHub · GitHub Enterprise Server (self-hosted) / GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps

vs

Claude Code Review vs GitHub Copilot code review

GitHub · GitHub Enterprise Server (self-hosted) / GitHub · Azure DevOps (public preview)

vs

CodeRabbit vs OpenAI Codex code review

GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps / GitHub

vs

GitHub Copilot code review vs OpenAI Codex code review

GitHub · Azure DevOps (public preview) / GitHub

vs

CodeRabbit vs Devin Review

GitHub · GitLab · Bitbucket · Azure DevOps / GitHub (incl. Enterprise Server and Enterprise Cloud) · GitLab (incl. Self-Managed) · Azure DevOps Services / Server 2020–2022 (connected)

Qodo

Qodo

A governance-heavy reviewer: rules, cross-repo context, and analytics aimed at teams drowning in AI-generated PRs — not only a comment bot.

Checked

Greptile

Greptile

A repository-context reviewer: the vendor describes a graph index and parallel review agents; credits are charged for completed reviews, not for keeping the graph.

Checked

Need a coding assistant instead?

Review bots do not replace Cursor, Claude Code, or Copilot in the editor.

Common questions

Questions about AI code review

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

What is an AI code review tool on this page?
A product that comments on pull requests — a GitHub App, a bundled Copilot/Cursor feature, or a stacked-PR inbox. Coding assistants that write code live under /ai-harnesses.
Per seat, credits, or bundled — which is cheaper?
It depends on how many developers open PRs. Per-seat tools (CodeRabbit, Gitar, Greptile Pro) scale with authors. Qodo meters pooled workspace credits. Copilot code review is bundled with a Copilot plan. Compare the dated pricing summary on each profile rather than a single winner.
Do these tools have hourly review limits?
Some do. CodeRabbit caps per developer (1/hour free, 5 Pro, 10 Pro+, 12 Enterprise, rolling). Gitar does not cap manual “Gitar review” comments, but Core/Pro automatic reviews pause when seat headroom for the billing period is exhausted. Qodo and Greptile meter credits. Graphite lists Limited vs Unlimited AI reviews by plan, without an hourly number. Cursor Bugbot bills usage and publishes API per-minute caps, not an hourly PR bucket.
Is GitHub Copilot code review enough?
If the team already pays for Copilot, start there. GitHub documents Copilot reviews as Comment-only — they do not block merge. Dedicated reviewers earn a second vendor only when you need a merge gate, full-repo context, a verifier, CI autofix, or a git host Copilot does not cover.
Did Sonar buy Gitar?
Yes, on 2026-05-21. Gitar remains a standalone product according to Sonar; confirm the support entity and SonarQube bundling before a long contract.