Skip to main content
AI Choice Engine
← All AI code review tools

GitHub

GitHub Copilot code review

GitHub Copilot code review is a GitHub pull-request reviewer on GitHub, Azure DevOps (public preview), billed as bundled with another product, last verified October 1, 2026. The default if the team already pays for Copilot: no second GitHub App, no second vendor review.

Catalog record checked October 1, 2026; vendor pricing and policies can change.

GitHub Copilot code review specification
SpecificationGitHub Copilot code review
VendorGitHub
Git hostsGitHub, Azure DevOps (public preview)
SurfaceBuilt into GitHub.com pull requests
Billing modelBundled with another product
Hourly / throughputAI credits + Actions minutes
TrialReview-specific trial terms are not stated in the code-review documentation; check the selected Copilot plan's eligibility.
Config / rules.github/copilot-instructions.md, .github/instructions/**/*.instructions.md, root AGENTS.md, .github/skills/; org/repo review policies and repository MCP settings
Inline comment capNot verifiedUnverified
Self-hosted optionNo
CI hostsGitHub Actions (agentic review runners)
AutofixSupported with conditions
Merge gateNot verifiedUnverified
Free for qualifying OSSNot verifiedUnverified
Bundled with another product

GitHub Copilot code review

The default if the team already pays for Copilot: no second GitHub App, no second vendor review.

Best for

  • Teams standardised on GitHub Copilot
  • Business/Enterprise orgs enabling policy-gated reviews for unlicensed members

Watch out

Shares credit pools with the rest of Copilot. Unlicensed-member reviews bill directly to the organization and are not attributed to an individual budget; Actions minutes may also apply. Azure DevOps and Copilot approvals are public previews. Enabled approvals can satisfy required-approval rules, but this is conditional and was not runtime-tested here. Current docs list Lite as the built-in default and Balanced for some owners; inspect the effective effort rather than assume a universal switch. Balanced consumes more credits. Compare review findings on representative PRs before paying for a second reviewer.

How a review works. Native GitHub pull-request review (also CLI, Mobile, VS Code, Visual Studio, Xcode, JetBrains; Azure DevOps in public preview). Current docs list Lite as the built-in default, with Balanced for some owners; request, PR, user, repository and organization settings can override it. Copilot can approve pull requests through the public-preview approvals feature. By default reviews do not count toward required approvals; when approvals are enabled in the relevant repository, organization and enterprise settings, an approving review can satisfy the required-approval rule. New commits dismiss that approval. Suggested fixes can be applied or passed to Copilot cloud agent (public preview). Unlicensed-member access is off by default until two org policies are enabled.

Pricing (verified). Bundled with Copilot plans that include code review (Pro lists access to cloud agent and code review, with $15 monthly credits on Pro). Licensed-user review draws from the Copilot allowance. Orgs can enable review on PRs from people without a Copilot seat; that usage bills as GitHub AI Credits. From 2026-06-01, code-review workflows also consume GitHub Actions minutes.

Hourly / throughput. No published hourly PR cap. GitHub docs estimate Lite reviews at $0.05–$1 of AI credits and Balanced at $0.25–$5, plus GitHub Actions minutes for agentic context gathering (self-hosted runners do not consume Actions minutes). Business/Enterprise reviews stop when a relevant user, enterprise or cost-center budget is exhausted. Copilot Free does not include GitHub pull-request review; organization-enabled access for unlicensed members is billed separately.

Trial. Review-specific trial terms are not stated in the code-review documentation; check the selected Copilot plan's eligibility.

Watch out. Shares credit pools with the rest of Copilot. Unlicensed-member reviews bill directly to the organization and are not attributed to an individual budget; Actions minutes may also apply. Azure DevOps and Copilot approvals are public previews. Enabled approvals can satisfy required-approval rules, but this is conditional and was not runtime-tested here. Current docs list Lite as the built-in default and Balanced for some owners; inspect the effective effort rather than assume a universal switch. Balanced consumes more credits. Compare review findings on representative PRs before paying for a second reviewer.

Common questions

Questions about GitHub Copilot code review

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

What is GitHub Copilot code review?
The default if the team already pays for Copilot: no second GitHub App, no second vendor review. It reviews on GitHub, Azure DevOps (public preview) as built into github.com pull requests.
How does GitHub Copilot code review price reviews?
Bundled with Copilot plans that include code review (Pro lists access to cloud agent and code review, with $15 monthly credits on Pro). Licensed-user review draws from the Copilot allowance. Orgs can enable review on PRs from people without a Copilot seat; that usage bills as GitHub AI Credits. From 2026-06-01, code-review workflows also consume GitHub Actions minutes.
What is the hourly or throughput limit for GitHub Copilot code review?
No published hourly PR cap. GitHub docs estimate Lite reviews at $0.05–$1 of AI credits and Balanced at $0.25–$5, plus GitHub Actions minutes for agentic context gathering (self-hosted runners do not consume Actions minutes). Business/Enterprise reviews stop when a relevant user, enterprise or cost-center budget is exhausted. Copilot Free does not include GitHub pull-request review; organization-enabled access for unlicensed members is billed separately.
Is there a trial for GitHub Copilot code review?
Review-specific trial terms are not stated in the code-review documentation; check the selected Copilot plan's eligibility.
Does GitHub Copilot code review autofix or block merges?
Autofix: Yes. Merge gate: Not verified. Native GitHub pull-request review (also CLI, Mobile, VS Code, Visual Studio, Xcode, JetBrains; Azure DevOps in public preview). Current docs list Lite as the built-in default, with Balanced for some owners; request, PR, user, repository and organization settings can override it. Copilot can approve pull requests through the public-preview approvals feature. By default reviews do not count toward required approvals; when approvals are enabled in the relevant repository, organization and enterprise settings, an approving review can satisfy the required-approval rule. New commits dismiss that approval. Suggested fixes can be applied or passed to Copilot cloud agent (public preview). Unlicensed-member access is off by default until two org policies are enabled.
What is the catch with GitHub Copilot code review?
Shares credit pools with the rest of Copilot. Unlicensed-member reviews bill directly to the organization and are not attributed to an individual budget; Actions minutes may also apply. Azure DevOps and Copilot approvals are public previews. Enabled approvals can satisfy required-approval rules, but this is conditional and was not runtime-tested here. Current docs list Lite as the built-in default and Balanced for some owners; inspect the effective effort rather than assume a universal switch. Balanced consumes more credits. Compare review findings on representative PRs before paying for a second reviewer.