Model comparison
Claude Opus 5.5 vs GLM 5.3
Anthropic against Z.ai, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.
Catalog record checked September 26, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below
Anthropic
Claude Opus 5.5
Frontier
Z.ai
GLM 5.3
Frontier · Open weights
| Specification | Claude Opus 5.5 | GLM 5.3 |
|---|---|---|
| Provider | ||
| Provider | Anthropic | Z.ai |
| Tier | ||
| Tier | Frontier | Frontier |
| Context window | ||
| Context window | 1M | 1M |
| Max output | ||
| Max output | 128K | 128K |
| Input / 1M tokens | ||
| Input / 1M tokens | $4 | Winner: $1.40 |
| Output / 1M tokens | ||
| Output / 1M tokens | $20 | Winner: $4.40 |
| Weights | ||
| Weights | Closed | Open |
| Parameters | ||
| Parameters | Not disclosedUnverified | 753B total (MoE; active count unpublished) |
| Reasoning levels | ||
| Reasoning levels | adaptive | low, high, max |
| Modalities | ||
| Modalities | text, image | text |
| License | ||
| License | Not disclosedUnverified | glm-5.3 (custom) |
| API model id | ||
| API model id | claude-opus-5-5 | glm-5.3 |
| Released | ||
| Released | September 22, 2026 | August 14, 2026 |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [max] (2026-09-26) | ||
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [max] (2026-09-26) | Winner: 57.6 | 44.8 |
| Humanity's Last Exam [max] (2026-09-26) | ||
| Humanity's Last Exam [max] (2026-09-26) | 61.4 | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Humanity's Last Exam (2026-08-14) | ||
| Humanity's Last Exam (2026-08-14) | Not verifiedUnverified | 62.5 |
| Terminal-Bench 4.0 [max] (2026-09-26) | ||
| Terminal-Bench 4.0 [max] (2026-09-26) | 59.6 | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Terminal-Bench 4.0 [xhigh] (2026-09-22) | ||
| Terminal-Bench 4.0 [xhigh] (2026-09-22) | 66.4 | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-08-14) | ||
| Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-08-14) | Not verifiedUnverified | 88.2 |
| DeepSWE 1.1 (2026-08-14) | ||
| DeepSWE 1.1 (2026-08-14) | Not verifiedUnverified | 66.9 |
| SWE-bench Verified (2026-09-01) | ||
| SWE-bench Verified (2026-09-01) | Not verifiedUnverified | 95.4 |
Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.
Benchmark receipts
Where each score comes from, and how far it can be compared across models.
- 2026-09-26Artificial Analysis Terminal-Bench 4.0 (independent AA run, part of Intelligence Index v4.3.2)
Agentic terminal work: long multi-step tasks executed in a sandboxed shell environment.
Comparable with caveatNOT comparable with Terminal-Bench 2.x or 3.0 — 4.0 uses a new, non-overlapping task set. Within 4.0, scores from different harnesses (tbench.ai agent entries vs Artificial Analysis runs) are not interchangeable.
- 2026-09-26Artificial Analysis Humanity's Last Exam (independent, 2,158 text-only questions)
Frontier-knowledge ceiling: extremely hard multi-domain questions written to be near-impossible without deep expertise.
Comparable with caveatSubset/tool configurations (text-only vs with-tools) differ between vendors and materially change scores; must match configuration to compare.
- 2026-09-26Artificial Analysis
Composite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score.
Comparable with caveatOnly same-version scores are comparable. v4.3.2 was rebaselined (the top score fell from 66 on v4.1.1 to ~58), so v4.1.1 figures must not be compared with v4.3.2 figures — check measuredAt.
- 2026-09-22Anthropic — Claude Opus 5.5 announcement (vendor; conflicts with AA's independent 59.6 — harness difference preserved)
Agentic terminal work: long multi-step tasks executed in a sandboxed shell environment.
Comparable with caveatNOT comparable with Terminal-Bench 2.x or 3.0 — 4.0 uses a new, non-overlapping task set. Within 4.0, scores from different harnesses (tbench.ai agent entries vs Artificial Analysis runs) are not interchangeable.
- 2026-09-01vals.ai SWE-bench Verified leaderboard (independent, mini-swe-agent bash-only); Zhipu docs list 77.8 inherited from GLM-5 — attribution contested, both noted
Real GitHub issue resolution: does the model's patch pass the hidden tests.
Comparable with caveatPost-audit vendor claims and pre-audit scores sit on different task trust levels; scaffolding (agent harness, compute budget) also dominates results. Never aggregate across scaffolds.
- 2026-08-14Z.ai GLM-5.3 blog + HF model card (vendor, with tools, full set)
Agentic terminal work: multi-step tasks executed in a sandboxed shell environment.
Comparable with caveatNot comparable with Terminal-Bench 3.0 or 4.0 (different task sets) or v1; harness configuration (container, time limits) also shifts results.
Pricing tiers
Claude Opus 5.5: $4/$20 per MTok, no long-context surcharge. Cache reads $0.20; 5-minute cache writes $5, 1-hour writes $8. Batch $2/$10; Fast mode $8/$40. Batches API allows 300K output with the output-300k-2026-03-24 beta header. Knowledge cutoff Jun 2026; retirement not before 2027-09-22.
GLM 5.3: Token API listed at $1.40/$4.40 per MTok from 2026-08-18 (cached input $0.26); Coding Plan access on a points quota. 1M context, 128K max output per official docs; thinking always on. 753B total MoE per the Hugging Face card (active count unpublished).
Claude Opus 5.5
Claude Opus 5.5 is Anthropic's default model for agentic coding and knowledge work — Anthropic says it performs near Fable 5.1 on most work at about 40% lower running cost than Opus 5, and it leads the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.3.2.
Best for
- Complex agentic coding
- Enterprise knowledge work
- Default frontier model
Watch out
Breaking changes from Opus 5: adaptive thinking cannot be disabled (effort runs low to max, default medium) and forced tool use returns an error. Verbose at max effort, so cap output on cost-sensitive routes.
GLM 5.3
GLM 5.3 is Zhipu's flagship (~753B MoE), near the top of the leaderboards, and the current GLM Coding Plan default.
Best for
- Coding Plan subscribers
- Long-horizon coding
- Chinese + English
Watch out
Open weights dropped 2026-08-28 under Z.ai's custom glm-5.3 licence (not a standard open-source licence — review before commercial use; secondary coverage says >$10B-revenue providers need a security review). 5.2/5.1 Coding Plan requests route to 5.3.
When the cheaper one wins
GLM 5.3 is cheaper on output at $4.40 per million tokens against $20 for Claude Opus 5.5 — about 4.5×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.
Run the model pickerEvidence confidence: High
How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.
- Pricing verified on both sides — Input and output rates are verified for both models.
- 4/5 core specs verified on both sides — Not published for at least one side: parameter count.
- 2 shared named benchmarks with differing scores — Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, Humanity's Last Exam.
- Verified within the last 90 days — Newest catalog check was 2 days ago.
- Both models carry source citations — Each side has at least two catalog sources on record.
Source receipts
Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.
- Claude Opus 5.5: Anthropic — Claude Opus 5.5 (accessed 2026-09-26)
- Claude Opus 5.5: Anthropic docs — Opus 5.5 overview (1M context, 128K output) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- Claude Opus 5.5: Anthropic pricing (claude-opus-5-5 $4/$20, cache reads $0.20) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- Claude Opus 5.5: Artificial Analysis — Intelligence Index v4.3.2 (Opus 5.5 #1) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- GLM 5.3: Z.ai GLM-5.3 announcement (accessed 2026-08-29)
- GLM 5.3: Hugging Face — zai-org/GLM-5.3 (weights, 2026-08-28) (accessed 2026-08-30)
Related comparisons
- Claude Fable 5.1 vs Claude Opus 5.5
- Claude Opus 5.5 vs DeepSeek V4.1 Flash
- Claude Opus 5.5 vs Gemini 3.8 Flash
- Claude Opus 5.5 vs GPT-6 Astra
- Claude Opus 5.5 vs GPT-6 Luna
- Claude Opus 5.5 vs GPT-6 Sol
Diving deeper on one model? Claude Opus 5.5 · GLM 5.3
Common questions
Claude Opus 5.5 vs GLM 5.3
Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.
Is Claude Opus 5.5 or GLM 5.3 cheaper for input?
Is Claude Opus 5.5 or GLM 5.3 cheaper for output?
Which has the larger context window, Claude Opus 5.5 or GLM 5.3?
Do Claude Opus 5.5 and GLM 5.3 support the same reasoning levels?
Should I use Claude Opus 5.5 or GLM 5.3?
Can I self-host Claude Opus 5.5 or GLM 5.3?
Next step
Choosing between them
The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.
- Input price: GLM 5.3 costs $1.40 per 1M tokens versus $4 for Claude Opus 5.5 — a 2.9x difference at the headline tier.
- Measured capability: Claude Opus 5.5 leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 57.6 to 44.8 (measured 2026-09-26).
- Deployment: GLM 5.3 publishes weights you can self-host; the other is API-only.
Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.