Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

Claude Opus 5 vs Upstage Solar Pro 4

Anthropic against Upstage, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.

Catalog record checked September 3, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

Anthropic

Claude Opus 5

Frontier

vs

Upstage

Upstage Solar Pro 4

Frontier

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationClaude Opus 5Upstage Solar Pro 4
ProviderAnthropicUpstage
TierFrontierFrontier
Context windowWinner: 1M524K
Max output128KNot verifiedUnverified
Input / 1M tokens$5Winner: $0.30
Output / 1M tokens$25Winner: $1.20
WeightsClosedClosed
ParametersNot disclosedUnverifiedNot disclosedUnverified
Reasoning levelsadaptivelow, medium, high
Modalitiestext, imagetext
API model idclaude-opus-5solar-pro-4
ReleasedJuly 24, 2026August 10, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [max] (2026-08-14)63Not verifiedUnverified
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-08-14)Not verifiedUnverified50
Humanity's Last Exam (2026-09-01)63.6Not verifiedUnverified
Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-09-03)86.7Not verifiedUnverified

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

  • 2026-09-03: Meta Muse Spark 1.3 launch table (independent cross-vendor run; conflicts with Google's 89.1 — both preserved)Agentic terminal work: multi-step tasks executed in a sandboxed shell environment. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Scores across Terminal-Bench major versions (v1 vs v2) are NOT comparable; harness configuration (container, time limits) also shifts results.
  • 2026-09-02: Google Gemini 3.8 Flash launch eval table (independent cross-vendor run)Agentic terminal work: multi-step tasks executed in a sandboxed shell environment. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Scores across Terminal-Bench major versions (v1 vs v2) are NOT comparable; harness configuration (container, time limits) also shifts results.
  • 2026-09-01: Anthropic Fable 5.1 comparison table (vendor, with tools; 56.6 no tools)Frontier-knowledge ceiling: extremely hard multi-domain questions written to be near-impossible without deep expertise. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Subset/tool configurations (text-only vs with-tools) differ between vendors and materially change scores; must match configuration to compare.
  • 2026-08-14: Artificial AnalysisComposite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score. Comparability: directly comparable — AA occasionally rebaselines the index scale between snapshots — a score captured on one date is only comparable to same-snapshot scores (check measuredAt).

Pricing tiers: Claude Opus 5: Standard $5/$25 per MTok; cache reads 10% of base input. Knowledge cutoff May 2026. · Upstage Solar Pro 4: List $0.30/$1.20 per MTok; live promo rate is $0.03/$0.12 (90% off through 2026-09-10). Closed API. 524K context.

FrontierRecord checked September 3, 2026

Claude Opus 5

Claude Opus 5 is Anthropic's top model for complex agentic coding and enterprise work — superseded at the top of the Artificial Analysis Index by Fable 5.1 (2026-09-01) but stronger on price.

Best for

  • Complex agentic coding
  • Enterprise work
  • Long-context analysis

Watch out

Output costs 5x input; long generations dominate the bill.

FrontierRecord checked September 2, 2026

Upstage Solar Pro 4

Solar Pro 4 is Upstage's closed flagship with a 524K context at a low launch price.

Best for

  • Long-context
  • Cost-sensitive API
  • Korean + English

Watch out

Closed API; promo pricing may end.

When the cheaper one wins

Upstage Solar Pro 4 is cheaper on output at $1.20 per million tokens against $25 for Claude Opus 5 — about 21×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sidesInput and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 3/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: max output, parameter count.
  • 1 shared named benchmark with differing scoresMeasured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 8 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

Claude Opus 5 vs Upstage Solar Pro 4

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is Claude Opus 5 or Upstage Solar Pro 4 cheaper for input?

Upstage Solar Pro 4 is cheaper at $0.30 per million input tokens, against $5 for Claude Opus 5 — roughly 17× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Claude Opus 5 has tiered pricing: Standard $5/$25 per MTok; cache reads 10% of base input. Knowledge cutoff May 2026. Upstage Solar Pro 4 has tiered pricing: List $0.30/$1.20 per MTok; live promo rate is $0.03/$0.12 (90% off through 2026-09-10). Closed API. 524K context.

Is Claude Opus 5 or Upstage Solar Pro 4 cheaper for output?

Upstage Solar Pro 4 is cheaper at $1.20 per million output tokens, against $25 for Claude Opus 5 — roughly 21× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Claude Opus 5 has tiered pricing: Standard $5/$25 per MTok; cache reads 10% of base input. Knowledge cutoff May 2026. Upstage Solar Pro 4 has tiered pricing: List $0.30/$1.20 per MTok; live promo rate is $0.03/$0.12 (90% off through 2026-09-10). Closed API. 524K context.

Which has the larger context window, Claude Opus 5 or Upstage Solar Pro 4?

Claude Opus 5 accepts 1M tokens against 524K for Upstage Solar Pro 4. This only matters if you routinely send very long documents or large codebases.

Do Claude Opus 5 and Upstage Solar Pro 4 support the same reasoning levels?

Claude Opus 5 exposes adaptive, while Upstage Solar Pro 4 exposes low, medium, high.

Should I use Claude Opus 5 or Upstage Solar Pro 4?

Both sit in the frontier tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. Claude Opus 5 suits complex agentic coding; Upstage Solar Pro 4 suits long-context.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: Upstage Solar Pro 4 costs $0.30 per 1M tokens versus $5 for Claude Opus 5 — a 16.7x difference at the headline tier.
  • Context: Claude Opus 5 takes 1M against 524K for Upstage Solar Pro 4 — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
  • Measured capability: Claude Opus 5 leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 63 to 50 (measured 2026-08-14).

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.