Model comparison
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash vs GPT-5.2
DeepSeek against OpenAI, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.
Catalog record checked September 26, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below
DeepSeek
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash
Balanced · Open weights
OpenAI
GPT-5.2
Balanced
| Specification | DeepSeek V4.1 Flash | GPT-5.2 |
|---|---|---|
| Provider | ||
| Provider | DeepSeek | OpenAI |
| Tier | ||
| Tier | Balanced | Balanced |
| Context window | ||
| Context window | Winner: 1M | 400K |
| Max output | ||
| Max output | Winner: 384K | 128K |
| Input / 1M tokens | ||
| Input / 1M tokens | Winner: $0.30 | $1.75 |
| Output / 1M tokens | ||
| Output / 1M tokens | Winner: $1.20 | $14 |
| Weights | ||
| Weights | Open | Closed |
| Parameters | ||
| Parameters | 552B MoE (causal encoder-decoder; 8B active for input, 16B for output) | Not disclosedUnverified |
| Reasoning levels | ||
| Reasoning levels | low, high, max | none, low, medium, high, xhigh |
| Modalities | ||
| Modalities | text, image | text, image |
| License | ||
| License | MIT | Not disclosedUnverified |
| API model id | ||
| API model id | deepseek-flash | gpt-5.2 |
| Released | ||
| Released | September 10, 2026 | December 11, 2025 |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [max] (2026-09-26) | ||
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [max] (2026-09-26) | 39.5 | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [xhigh] (2026-09-26) | ||
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [xhigh] (2026-09-26) | Not verifiedUnverified | 30.4 |
| DeepSWE 1.1 [max] (2026-09-10) | ||
| DeepSWE 1.1 [max] (2026-09-10) | 74.2 | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Terminal-Bench 2.1 [max] (2026-09-10) | ||
| Terminal-Bench 2.1 [max] (2026-09-10) | 90.6 | Not verifiedUnverified |
| GPQA Diamond [max] (2026-09-10) | ||
| GPQA Diamond [max] (2026-09-10) | 90.9 | Not verifiedUnverified |
Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.
Benchmark receipts
Where each score comes from, and how far it can be compared across models.
- 2026-09-26Artificial Analysis (AA-estimated)
Composite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score.
Comparable with caveatOnly same-version scores are comparable. v4.3.2 was rebaselined (the top score fell from 66 on v4.1.1 to ~58), so v4.1.1 figures must not be compared with v4.3.2 figures — check measuredAt.
- 2026-09-10DeepSeek V4.1-Flash release notes (vendor)
Agentic software engineering: pass@1 on real repo tasks with reported cost per completed task.
Directly comparable
Pricing tiers
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash: Official peak rates $0.30/$1.20 per MTok; off-peak $0.15/$0.60 (50% of peak). Cache hit $0.006 peak / $0.003 off-peak. Peak hours are weekdays 01:00–04:00 and 06:00–10:00 UTC. Open weights (MIT). The legacy deepseek-v4-flash and deepseek-v4-flash-vision-exp ids temporarily route here.
GPT-5.2: Standard $1.75/$14 per MTok; cached input $0.175/MTok; batch $0.875/$7. (gpt-5.2-pro exists at $21/$168.)
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash is DeepSeek's new default — an open-weight (MIT) multimodal MoE that DeepSeek says beats V4-Pro on performance, cost and speed.
Best for
- Open-weight price-performance
- High-volume hosted agents
- Self-hosting with MIT weights
Watch out
Vendor benchmark claims are far ahead of its independent Artificial Analysis score (39.5 on v4.3.2); peak/off-peak billing means the hour you run matters.
GPT-5.2
GPT-5.2 was OpenAI's December 2025 flagship — still a widely integrated general model at $1.75/$14.
Best for
- General production
- Agentic workflows
- Knowledge work
Watch out
Three generations behind GPT-6 — OpenAI's GPT-5.2 page recommends GPT-6 Astra; capable but no longer flagship.
When the cheaper one wins
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash is cheaper on output at $1.20 per million tokens against $14 for GPT-5.2 — about 12×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.
Run the model pickerEvidence confidence: High
How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.
- Pricing verified on both sides — Input and output rates are verified for both models.
- 4/5 core specs verified on both sides — Not published for at least one side: parameter count.
- 1 shared named benchmark with differing scores — Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
- Verified within the last 90 days — Newest catalog check was 2 days ago.
- Both models carry source citations — Each side has at least two catalog sources on record.
Source receipts
Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.
- DeepSeek V4.1 Flash: DeepSeek — V4.1-Flash release (2026-09-10) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- DeepSeek V4.1 Flash: DeepSeek API pricing (deepseek-flash $0.30/$1.20 peak) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- DeepSeek V4.1 Flash: Hugging Face — deepseek-ai/DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash (accessed 2026-09-26)
- GPT-5.2: OpenAI — Introducing GPT-5.2 (accessed 2026-08-29)
- GPT-5.2: OpenAI API pricing (gpt-5.2 $1.75/$14) (accessed 2026-08-29)
Related comparisons
- Claude Opus 5.5 vs DeepSeek V4.1 Flash
- DeepSeek V4.1 Flash vs GPT-6 Luna
- DeepSeek V4.1 Flash vs GPT-6 Sol
- DeepSeek V4.1 Flash vs Xiaomi MiMo-V2.6-Pro
- Amazon Nova 2 Pro vs DeepSeek V4.1 Flash
- Amazon Nova 2 Pro vs GPT-5.2
Diving deeper on one model? DeepSeek V4.1 Flash · GPT-5.2
Common questions
DeepSeek V4.1 Flash vs GPT-5.2
Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.
Is DeepSeek V4.1 Flash or GPT-5.2 cheaper for input?
Is DeepSeek V4.1 Flash or GPT-5.2 cheaper for output?
Which has the larger context window, DeepSeek V4.1 Flash or GPT-5.2?
Do DeepSeek V4.1 Flash and GPT-5.2 support the same reasoning levels?
Should I use DeepSeek V4.1 Flash or GPT-5.2?
Can I self-host DeepSeek V4.1 Flash or GPT-5.2?
Next step
Choosing between them
The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.
- Input price: DeepSeek V4.1 Flash costs $0.30 per 1M tokens versus $1.75 for GPT-5.2 — a 5.8x difference at the headline tier.
- Context: DeepSeek V4.1 Flash takes 1M against 400K for GPT-5.2 — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
- Deployment: DeepSeek V4.1 Flash publishes weights you can self-host; the other is API-only.
Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.