Model comparison
Gemini 2.5 Pro vs Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
Two Google tiers compared on the figures that decide which one a workload actually needs.
Catalog record checked September 26, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: Medium — see receipts below
Gemini 2.5 Pro
Balanced
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
Budget
| Specification | Gemini 2.5 Pro | Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite |
|---|---|---|
| Provider | ||
| Provider | ||
| Tier | ||
| Tier | Balanced | Budget |
| Context window | ||
| Context window | 1.05M | 1.05M |
| Max output | ||
| Max output | 66K | 66K |
| Input / 1M tokens | ||
| Input / 1M tokens | $1.25 | Winner: $0.25 |
| Output / 1M tokens | ||
| Output / 1M tokens | $10 | Winner: $1.50 |
| Weights | ||
| Weights | Closed | Closed |
| Parameters | ||
| Parameters | Not disclosedUnverified | Not disclosedUnverified |
| Reasoning levels | ||
| Reasoning levels | low, medium, high | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Modalities | ||
| Modalities | text, image, video, audio, pdf | text, image, video, audio, pdf |
| API model id | ||
| API model id | gemini-2.5-pro | gemini-3.1-flash-lite |
| Released | ||
| Released | June 17, 2025 | May 7, 2026 |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-09-26) | ||
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-09-26) | Winner: 16.1 | 15.6 |
Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.
Benchmark receipts
Where each score comes from, and how far it can be compared across models.
- 2026-09-26Artificial Analysis
Composite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score.
Comparable with caveatOnly same-version scores are comparable. v4.3.2 was rebaselined (the top score fell from 66 on v4.1.1 to ~58), so v4.1.1 figures must not be compared with v4.3.2 figures — check measuredAt.
Pricing tiers
Gemini 2.5 Pro: $1.25/$10 per MTok (≤200K); $2.50/$15 (>200K). Legacy but still widely listed.
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite: $0.25 input (text, image, video; $0.50 audio) / $1.50 output per MTok; cached input $0.025. GA 2026-05-07 after a 2026-03-03 preview; shutdown no earlier than 2027-05-07.
Gemini 2.5 Pro
Gemini 2.5 Pro is Google's previous-generation Pro with a 1.05M-token context and strong multimodal support.
Best for
- Long documents
- Multimodal input
- Google Workspace integration
Watch out
Since 2026-09-18 Google limits Gemini API access to existing 2.5 users (new projects are pointed to 3.8 Flash or 3.5 Flash-Lite); the Gemini API deprecations page shows no shutdown date — check Vertex AI's lifecycle page separately.
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite is Google's cheapest current Gemini API model for high-volume, latency-sensitive pipelines.
Best for
- High-volume extraction
- Classification
- Cheap multimodal input
Watch out
Google recommends 3.5 Flash-Lite for new work, and 3.1 Flash-Lite's earliest shutdown date is 2027-05-07; well behind Flash models on reasoning.
When the cheaper one wins
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite is cheaper on output at $1.50 per million tokens against $10 for Gemini 2.5 Pro — about 6.7×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.
Run the model pickerEvidence confidence: Medium
How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.
- Pricing verified on both sides — Input and output rates are verified for both models.
- 3/5 core specs verified on both sides — Not published for at least one side: parameter count, reasoning levels.
- 1 shared named benchmark (scores match) — Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index — scores are equivalent, so the benchmark does not separate the pair.
- Verified within the last 90 days — Newest catalog check was 2 days ago.
- Both models carry source citations — Each side has at least two catalog sources on record.
Source receipts
Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.
- Gemini 2.5 Pro: Google — Gemini 2.5 Pro GA (accessed 2026-08-29)
- Gemini 2.5 Pro: Google AI pricing (accessed 2026-08-29)
- Gemini 2.5 Pro: Gemini API changelog (2.5-series access restriction, 2026-09-18) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite: Gemini API pricing (gemini-3.1-flash-lite $0.25/$1.50) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite: Gemini API — gemini-3.1-flash-lite model card (accessed 2026-09-26)
- Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite: Gemini API deprecations (earliest shutdown 2027-05-07) (accessed 2026-09-26)
Related comparisons
- Amazon Nova 2 Pro vs Gemini 2.5 Pro
- Claude Haiku 4.5 vs Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
- Claude Sonnet 5 vs Gemini 2.5 Pro
- Cohere Command A+ vs Gemini 2.5 Pro
- DeepSeek R1 vs Gemini 2.5 Pro
- DeepSeek V3.1 vs Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
Diving deeper on one model? Gemini 2.5 Pro · Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
Common questions
Gemini 2.5 Pro vs Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.
Is Gemini 2.5 Pro or Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite cheaper for input?
Is Gemini 2.5 Pro or Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite cheaper for output?
Which has the larger context window, Gemini 2.5 Pro or Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite?
Should I use Gemini 2.5 Pro or Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite?
Next step
Choosing between them
The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.
- Input price: Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite costs $0.25 per 1M tokens versus $1.25 for Gemini 2.5 Pro — a 5x difference at the headline tier.
- Measured capability: Gemini 2.5 Pro leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 16.1 to 15.6 (measured 2026-09-26).
- Positioning: Gemini 2.5 Pro sits in the balanced tier, Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite in the budget tier — most production volume (classification, extraction, summarisation) does not need the pricier tier.
Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.