Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

Gemini 2.5 Pro vs GPT-5.4

Google against OpenAI, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.

Catalog record checked September 3, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

Google

Gemini 2.5 Pro

Balanced

vs

OpenAI

GPT-5.4

Balanced

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationGemini 2.5 ProGPT-5.4
ProviderGoogleOpenAI
TierBalancedBalanced
Context window1.05MWinner: 1.05M
Max output66KWinner: 128K
Input / 1M tokensWinner: $1.25$2.50
Output / 1M tokensWinner: $10$15
WeightsClosedClosed
ParametersNot disclosedUnverifiedNot disclosedUnverified
Reasoning levelslow, medium, highnone, low, medium, high, xhigh, max
Modalitiestext, image, video, audio, pdftext, image
API model idgemini-2.5-progpt-5.4
ReleasedJune 17, 2025March 5, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-08-14)47Not verifiedUnverified
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [xhigh] (2026-08-14)Not verifiedUnverified54

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

  • 2026-08-14: Artificial AnalysisComposite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score. Comparability: directly comparable — AA occasionally rebaselines the index scale between snapshots — a score captured on one date is only comparable to same-snapshot scores (check measuredAt).

Pricing tiers: Gemini 2.5 Pro: $1.25/$10 per MTok (≤200K); $2.50/$15 (>200K). Legacy but still widely listed. · GPT-5.4: Standard $2.50/$15 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.25/MTok; batch $1.25/$7.50.

BalancedRecord checked September 2, 2026

Gemini 2.5 Pro

Gemini 2.5 Pro is Google's previous-generation Pro with a 1.05M-token context and strong multimodal support.

Best for

  • Long documents
  • Multimodal input
  • Google Workspace integration

Watch out

A generation behind Gemini 3.x; verify on your workload.

BalancedRecord checked September 3, 2026

GPT-5.4

GPT-5.4 is OpenAI's balanced 2026 workhorse with a 1.05M-token context at $2.50/$15.

Best for

  • General production
  • Agentic workflows
  • Knowledge work

Watch out

A generation behind GPT-5.6; still widely used and well-supported.

When the cheaper one wins

Gemini 2.5 Pro is cheaper on output at $10 per million tokens against $15 for GPT-5.4 — about 1.5×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sidesInput and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 4/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: parameter count.
  • 1 shared named benchmark with differing scoresMeasured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 8 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

Gemini 2.5 Pro vs GPT-5.4

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is Gemini 2.5 Pro or GPT-5.4 cheaper for input?

Gemini 2.5 Pro is cheaper at $1.25 per million input tokens, against $2.50 for GPT-5.4 — roughly 2.0× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Gemini 2.5 Pro has tiered pricing: $1.25/$10 per MTok (≤200K); $2.50/$15 (>200K). Legacy but still widely listed. GPT-5.4 has tiered pricing: Standard $2.50/$15 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.25/MTok; batch $1.25/$7.50.

Is Gemini 2.5 Pro or GPT-5.4 cheaper for output?

Gemini 2.5 Pro is cheaper at $10 per million output tokens, against $15 for GPT-5.4 — roughly 1.5× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Gemini 2.5 Pro has tiered pricing: $1.25/$10 per MTok (≤200K); $2.50/$15 (>200K). Legacy but still widely listed. GPT-5.4 has tiered pricing: Standard $2.50/$15 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.25/MTok; batch $1.25/$7.50.

Which has the larger context window, Gemini 2.5 Pro or GPT-5.4?

Both accept about 1.05M tokens of context, so document length will not decide between them.

Do Gemini 2.5 Pro and GPT-5.4 support the same reasoning levels?

Gemini 2.5 Pro exposes low, medium, high, while GPT-5.4 exposes none, low, medium, high, xhigh, max.

Should I use Gemini 2.5 Pro or GPT-5.4?

Both sit in the balanced tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. Gemini 2.5 Pro suits long documents; GPT-5.4 suits general production.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: Gemini 2.5 Pro costs $1.25 per 1M tokens versus $2.50 for GPT-5.4 — a 2x difference at the headline tier.
  • Context: GPT-5.4 takes 1.05M against 1.05M for Gemini 2.5 Pro — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
  • Measured capability: GPT-5.4 leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 54 to 47 (measured 2026-08-14).

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.