Model comparison
Gemini 2.5 Pro vs MiniMax M2.7
Google against MiniMax, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.
Catalog record checked September 26, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below
Gemini 2.5 Pro
Balanced
MiniMax
MiniMax M2.7
Balanced · Open weights
| Specification | Gemini 2.5 Pro | MiniMax M2.7 |
|---|---|---|
| Provider | ||
| Provider | MiniMax | |
| Tier | ||
| Tier | Balanced | Balanced |
| Context window | ||
| Context window | Winner: 1.05M | 205K |
| Max output | ||
| Max output | 66K | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Input / 1M tokens | ||
| Input / 1M tokens | $1.25 | Winner: $0.30 |
| Output / 1M tokens | ||
| Output / 1M tokens | $10 | Winner: $1.20 |
| Weights | ||
| Weights | Closed | Open |
| Parameters | ||
| Parameters | Not disclosedUnverified | Not disclosedUnverified |
| Reasoning levels | ||
| Reasoning levels | low, medium, high | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Modalities | ||
| Modalities | text, image, video, audio, pdf | text |
| API model id | ||
| API model id | gemini-2.5-pro | MiniMax-M2.7 |
| Released | ||
| Released | June 17, 2025 | March 18, 2026 |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-09-26) | ||
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-09-26) | 16.1 | Winner: 22.8 |
Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.
Benchmark receipts
Where each score comes from, and how far it can be compared across models.
- 2026-09-26Artificial Analysis
Composite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score.
Comparable with caveatOnly same-version scores are comparable. v4.3.2 was rebaselined (the top score fell from 66 on v4.1.1 to ~58), so v4.1.1 figures must not be compared with v4.3.2 figures — check measuredAt.
Pricing tiers
Gemini 2.5 Pro: $1.25/$10 per MTok (≤200K); $2.50/$15 (>200K). Legacy but still widely listed.
MiniMax M2.7: $0.30/$1.20 per MTok on MiniMax's pay-as-you-go API; cache read $0.06, cache write $0.375. Open weights on Hugging Face (licence terms not re-verified).
Gemini 2.5 Pro
Gemini 2.5 Pro is Google's previous-generation Pro with a 1.05M-token context and strong multimodal support.
Best for
- Long documents
- Multimodal input
- Google Workspace integration
Watch out
Since 2026-09-18 Google limits Gemini API access to existing 2.5 users (new projects are pointed to 3.8 Flash or 3.5 Flash-Lite); the Gemini API deprecations page shows no shutdown date — check Vertex AI's lifecycle page separately.
MiniMax M2.7
MiniMax M2.7 is MiniMax's current text-only open-weight model with a 204,800-token context, priced like M3.
Best for
- Text-only agents
- Open-weight deployments
- Cost-sensitive coding
Watch out
Text-only and a 204,800-token context — M3 has 1M context and multimodal input at the same $0.30/$1.20 list price.
When the cheaper one wins
MiniMax M2.7 is cheaper on output at $1.20 per million tokens against $10 for Gemini 2.5 Pro — about 8.3×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.
Run the model pickerEvidence confidence: High
How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.
- Pricing verified on both sides — Input and output rates are verified for both models.
- 2/5 core specs verified on both sides — Not published for at least one side: max output, parameter count, reasoning levels.
- 1 shared named benchmark with differing scores — Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
- Verified within the last 90 days — Newest catalog check was 2 days ago.
- Both models carry source citations — Each side has at least two catalog sources on record.
Source receipts
Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.
- Gemini 2.5 Pro: Google — Gemini 2.5 Pro GA (accessed 2026-08-29)
- Gemini 2.5 Pro: Google AI pricing (accessed 2026-08-29)
- Gemini 2.5 Pro: Gemini API changelog (2.5-series access restriction, 2026-09-18) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- MiniMax M2.7: MiniMax — model release notes (M2.7, 2026-03-18) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- MiniMax M2.7: MiniMax pay-as-you-go pricing (M2.7 $0.30/$1.20) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- MiniMax M2.7: Hugging Face — MiniMaxAI/MiniMax-M2.7 (accessed 2026-09-26)
Related comparisons
- Amazon Nova 2 Pro vs Gemini 2.5 Pro
- Amazon Nova 2 Pro vs MiniMax M2.7
- Claude Sonnet 5 vs Gemini 2.5 Pro
- Claude Sonnet 5 vs MiniMax M2.7
- Cohere Command A+ vs Gemini 2.5 Pro
- Cohere Command A+ vs MiniMax M2.7
Diving deeper on one model? Gemini 2.5 Pro · MiniMax M2.7
Common questions
Gemini 2.5 Pro vs MiniMax M2.7
Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.
Is Gemini 2.5 Pro or MiniMax M2.7 cheaper for input?
Is Gemini 2.5 Pro or MiniMax M2.7 cheaper for output?
Which has the larger context window, Gemini 2.5 Pro or MiniMax M2.7?
Should I use Gemini 2.5 Pro or MiniMax M2.7?
Can I self-host Gemini 2.5 Pro or MiniMax M2.7?
Next step
Choosing between them
The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.
- Input price: MiniMax M2.7 costs $0.30 per 1M tokens versus $1.25 for Gemini 2.5 Pro — a 4.2x difference at the headline tier.
- Context: Gemini 2.5 Pro takes 1.05M against 205K for MiniMax M2.7 — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
- Measured capability: MiniMax M2.7 leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 22.8 to 16.1 (measured 2026-09-26).
- Deployment: MiniMax M2.7 publishes weights you can self-host; the other is API-only.
Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.