Model comparison
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite vs Gemini 3.1 Pro
Two Google tiers compared on the figures that decide which one a workload actually needs.
Catalog record checked September 26, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
Budget
Gemini 3.1 Pro
Frontier
| Specification | Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite | Gemini 3.1 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Provider | ||
| Provider | ||
| Tier | ||
| Tier | Budget | Frontier |
| Context window | ||
| Context window | 1.05M | 1.05M |
| Max output | ||
| Max output | 66K | 66K |
| Input / 1M tokens | ||
| Input / 1M tokens | Winner: $0.25 | $2 |
| Output / 1M tokens | ||
| Output / 1M tokens | Winner: $1.50 | $12 |
| Weights | ||
| Weights | Closed | Closed |
| Parameters | ||
| Parameters | Not disclosedUnverified | Not disclosedUnverified |
| Reasoning levels | ||
| Reasoning levels | Not verifiedUnverified | low, medium, high |
| Modalities | ||
| Modalities | text, image, video, audio, pdf | text, image, video, audio, pdf |
| API model id | ||
| API model id | gemini-3.1-flash-lite | gemini-3.1-pro-preview |
| Released | ||
| Released | May 7, 2026 | February 19, 2026 |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-09-26) | ||
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-09-26) | 15.6 | Winner: 29.7 |
| SWE-bench Verified (2026-02) | ||
| SWE-bench Verified (2026-02) | Not verifiedUnverified | 80.6 |
| GPQA Diamond (2026-02) | ||
| GPQA Diamond (2026-02) | Not verifiedUnverified | 94.3 |
| Humanity's Last Exam (2026-02) | ||
| Humanity's Last Exam (2026-02) | Not verifiedUnverified | 44.4 |
| Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-07) | ||
| Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-07) | Not verifiedUnverified | 73.8 |
Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.
Benchmark receipts
Where each score comes from, and how far it can be compared across models.
- 2026-09-26Artificial Analysis
Composite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score.
Comparable with caveatOnly same-version scores are comparable. v4.3.2 was rebaselined (the top score fell from 66 on v4.1.1 to ~58), so v4.1.1 figures must not be compared with v4.3.2 figures — check measuredAt.
- 2026-07Google DeepMind model evaluation report (vendor, Terminus-2; own Feb report separately reported TB 2.0 = 68.5 — versions preserved)
Agentic terminal work: multi-step tasks executed in a sandboxed shell environment.
Comparable with caveatNot comparable with Terminal-Bench 3.0 or 4.0 (different task sets) or v1; harness configuration (container, time limits) also shifts results.
- 2026-02Google DeepMind model evaluation report (vendor, no tools; 51.4 with search+code)
Real GitHub issue resolution: does the model's patch pass the hidden tests.
Comparable with caveatPost-audit vendor claims and pre-audit scores sit on different task trust levels; scaffolding (agent harness, compute budget) also dominates results. Never aggregate across scaffolds.
Pricing tiers
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite: $0.25 input (text, image, video; $0.50 audio) / $1.50 output per MTok; cached input $0.025. GA 2026-05-07 after a 2026-03-03 preview; shutdown no earlier than 2027-05-07.
Gemini 3.1 Pro: $2/$12 per MTok (≤200K); $4/$18 (>200K). Still 'Preview' as of 2026-09-26; no Gemini 3.5 Pro or Gemini 4 release yet.
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite is Google's cheapest current Gemini API model for high-volume, latency-sensitive pipelines.
Best for
- High-volume extraction
- Classification
- Cheap multimodal input
Watch out
Google recommends 3.5 Flash-Lite for new work, and 3.1 Flash-Lite's earliest shutdown date is 2027-05-07; well behind Flash models on reasoning.
Gemini 3.1 Pro
Gemini 3.1 Pro is Google's only Pro model (still in Preview), with a 1M-token context and strong multimodal reasoning.
Best for
- Very long documents
- Multimodal reasoning
- Frontier knowledge work
Watch out
Still in Preview; Google says Gemini 4 is in post-training but unreleased as of 2026-09-26, and newer Flash models outscore it on the Artificial Analysis index.
When the cheaper one wins
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite is cheaper on output at $1.50 per million tokens against $12 for Gemini 3.1 Pro — about 8.0×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.
Run the model pickerEvidence confidence: High
How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.
- Pricing verified on both sides — Input and output rates are verified for both models.
- 3/5 core specs verified on both sides — Not published for at least one side: parameter count, reasoning levels.
- 1 shared named benchmark with differing scores — Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
- Verified within the last 90 days — Newest catalog check was 2 days ago.
- Both models carry source citations — Each side has at least two catalog sources on record.
Source receipts
Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.
- Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite: Gemini API pricing (gemini-3.1-flash-lite $0.25/$1.50) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite: Gemini API — gemini-3.1-flash-lite model card (accessed 2026-09-26)
- Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite: Gemini API deprecations (earliest shutdown 2027-05-07) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- Gemini 3.1 Pro: Google Cloud — Gemini 3.1 Pro (accessed 2026-08-29)
- Gemini 3.1 Pro: TechCrunch — Gemini 3.1 Pro (accessed 2026-08-29)
Related comparisons
- Claude Fable 5.1 vs Gemini 3.1 Pro
- Claude Fable 5 vs Gemini 3.1 Pro
- Claude Haiku 4.5 vs Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite
- Claude Mythos 5.1 vs Gemini 3.1 Pro
- Claude Opus 5.5 vs Gemini 3.1 Pro
- Claude Opus 5 vs Gemini 3.1 Pro
Diving deeper on one model? Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite · Gemini 3.1 Pro
Common questions
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite vs Gemini 3.1 Pro
Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.
Is Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite or Gemini 3.1 Pro cheaper for input?
Is Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite or Gemini 3.1 Pro cheaper for output?
Which has the larger context window, Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite or Gemini 3.1 Pro?
Should I use Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite or Gemini 3.1 Pro?
Next step
Choosing between them
The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.
- Input price: Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite costs $0.25 per 1M tokens versus $2 for Gemini 3.1 Pro — a 8x difference at the headline tier.
- Measured capability: Gemini 3.1 Pro leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 29.7 to 15.6 (measured 2026-09-26).
- Positioning: Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite sits in the budget tier, Gemini 3.1 Pro in the frontier tier — most production volume (classification, extraction, summarisation) does not need the pricier tier.
Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.