Skip to main content
AI Choice Engine

Model comparison

Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite vs Gemini 3.7 Flash

Two Google tiers compared on the figures that decide which one a workload actually needs.

Catalog record checked September 26, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

Google

Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite

Budget

vs

Google

Gemini 3.7 Flash

Budget

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationGemini 3.1 Flash-LiteGemini 3.7 Flash
ProviderGoogleGoogle
TierBudgetBudget
Context window1.05M1.05M
Max output66K66K
Input / 1M tokensWinner: $0.25$0.75
Output / 1M tokensWinner: $1.50$3.75
WeightsClosedClosed
ParametersNot disclosedUnverifiedNot disclosedUnverified
Reasoning levelsNot verifiedUnverifiedlow, medium, high
Modalitiestext, image, video, audio, pdftext, image, video, audio, pdf
API model idgemini-3.1-flash-litegemini-3.7-flash
ReleasedMay 7, 2026August 13, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-09-26)15.6Not verifiedUnverified
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [high] (2026-09-26)Not verifiedUnverified39.1
Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-08)Not verifiedUnverified85.8
DeepSWE 1.1 (2026-08)Not verifiedUnverified65.3
Humanity's Last Exam (2026-08)Not verifiedUnverified53.6

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

Where each score comes from, and how far it can be compared across models.

  • 2026-09-26
    Artificial Analysis

    Composite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score.

    Comparable with caveatOnly same-version scores are comparable. v4.3.2 was rebaselined (the top score fell from 66 on v4.1.1 to ~58), so v4.1.1 figures must not be compared with v4.3.2 figures — check measuredAt.

  • 2026-08
    Google DeepMind model evaluation report (vendor, HLE-Verified full set)

    Agentic terminal work: multi-step tasks executed in a sandboxed shell environment.

    Comparable with caveatNot comparable with Terminal-Bench 3.0 or 4.0 (different task sets) or v1; harness configuration (container, time limits) also shifts results.

Pricing tiers

Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite: $0.25 input (text, image, video; $0.50 audio) / $1.50 output per MTok; cached input $0.025. GA 2026-05-07 after a 2026-03-03 preview; shutdown no earlier than 2027-05-07.

Gemini 3.7 Flash: Intro price $0.75/$3.75 per MTok through 2026-12-31, rising to $1.50/$7.50 from 2027-01-01. Multimodal input.

BudgetRecord checked September 26, 2026

Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite

Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite is Google's cheapest current Gemini API model for high-volume, latency-sensitive pipelines.

Best for

  • High-volume extraction
  • Classification
  • Cheap multimodal input

Watch out

Google recommends 3.5 Flash-Lite for new work, and 3.1 Flash-Lite's earliest shutdown date is 2027-05-07; well behind Flash models on reasoning.

BudgetRecord checked September 26, 2026

Gemini 3.7 Flash

Gemini 3.7 Flash is Google's efficiency-first multimodal Flash (3.8 Flash of 2026-09-02 is newer and stronger; Google keeps 3.7 for cost-focused routes).

Best for

  • High-volume multimodal
  • Agent loops
  • Cost-sensitive work

Watch out

Intro pricing doubles on 2027-01-01; lock rates if deploying long-term.

When the cheaper one wins

Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite is cheaper on output at $1.50 per million tokens against $3.75 for Gemini 3.7 Flash — about 2.5×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sides — Input and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 3/5 core specs verified on both sides — Not published for at least one side: parameter count, reasoning levels.
  • 1 shared named benchmark with differing scores — Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
  • Verified within the last 90 days — Newest catalog check was 2 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citations — Each side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite vs Gemini 3.7 Flash

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite or Gemini 3.7 Flash cheaper for input?
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite is cheaper at $0.25 per million input tokens, against $0.75 for Gemini 3.7 Flash — roughly 3.0× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite has tiered pricing: $0.25 input (text, image, video; $0.50 audio) / $1.50 output per MTok; cached input $0.025. GA 2026-05-07 after a 2026-03-03 preview; shutdown no earlier than 2027-05-07. Gemini 3.7 Flash has tiered pricing: Intro price $0.75/$3.75 per MTok through 2026-12-31, rising to $1.50/$7.50 from 2027-01-01. Multimodal input.
Is Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite or Gemini 3.7 Flash cheaper for output?
Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite is cheaper at $1.50 per million output tokens, against $3.75 for Gemini 3.7 Flash — roughly 2.5× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite has tiered pricing: $0.25 input (text, image, video; $0.50 audio) / $1.50 output per MTok; cached input $0.025. GA 2026-05-07 after a 2026-03-03 preview; shutdown no earlier than 2027-05-07. Gemini 3.7 Flash has tiered pricing: Intro price $0.75/$3.75 per MTok through 2026-12-31, rising to $1.50/$7.50 from 2027-01-01. Multimodal input.
Which has the larger context window, Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite or Gemini 3.7 Flash?
Both accept about 1.05M tokens of context, so document length will not decide between them.
Should I use Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite or Gemini 3.7 Flash?
Both sit in the budget tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite suits high-volume extraction; Gemini 3.7 Flash suits high-volume multimodal.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite costs $0.25 per 1M tokens versus $0.75 for Gemini 3.7 Flash — a 3x difference at the headline tier.
  • Measured capability: Gemini 3.7 Flash leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 39.1 to 15.6 (measured 2026-09-26).

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.