Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

Gemini 3.1 Pro vs GPT-5.5 Pro

Google against OpenAI, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.

Catalog record checked September 5, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

Google

Gemini 3.1 Pro

Frontier

vs

OpenAI

GPT-5.5 Pro

Frontier

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationGemini 3.1 ProGPT-5.5 Pro
ProviderGoogleOpenAI
TierFrontierFrontier
Context window1.05MWinner: 1.05M
Max output66KWinner: 128K
Input / 1M tokensWinner: $2$30
Output / 1M tokensWinner: $12$180
WeightsClosedClosed
ParametersNot disclosedUnverifiedNot disclosedUnverified
Reasoning levelslow, medium, highnone, low, medium, high, xhigh, max
Modalitiestext, image, video, audio, pdftext, image
API model idgemini-3.1-pro-previewgpt-5.5-pro
ReleasedFebruary 19, 2026April 23, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-08-14)60Not verifiedUnverified
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [xhigh] (2026-08-14)Not verifiedUnverified60
SWE-bench Verified (2026-02)80.6Not verifiedUnverified
GPQA Diamond (2026-02)94.3Not verifiedUnverified
Humanity's Last Exam (2026-02)44.4Not verifiedUnverified
Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-07)73.8Not verifiedUnverified

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

Pricing tiers: Gemini 3.1 Pro: $2/$12 per MTok (≤200K); $4/$18 (>200K). Still 'Preview' as of 2026-08-29; 3.5 Pro not yet released. · GPT-5.5 Pro: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.

FrontierRecord checked September 5, 2026

Gemini 3.1 Pro

Gemini 3.1 Pro is Google's current flagship Pro model with record benchmark scores and a 1M-token context.

Best for

  • Very long documents
  • Multimodal reasoning
  • Frontier knowledge work

Watch out

Still in Preview; 3.5 Pro is 'coming soon' but unreleased as of 2026-08-29.

FrontierRecord checked September 3, 2026

GPT-5.5 Pro

GPT-5.5 Pro is OpenAI's highest-effort tier for maximal accuracy on the hardest tasks.

Best for

  • Maximum-accuracy reasoning
  • Research
  • Hard enterprise workloads

Watch out

At $30/$180 per MTok it is the most expensive OpenAI tier; reserve for work that needs it.

When the cheaper one wins

Gemini 3.1 Pro is cheaper on output at $12 per million tokens against $180 for GPT-5.5 Pro — about 15×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sidesInput and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 4/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: parameter count.
  • 1 shared named benchmark (scores match)Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index — scores are equivalent, so the benchmark does not separate the pair.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 6 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

Gemini 3.1 Pro vs GPT-5.5 Pro

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is Gemini 3.1 Pro or GPT-5.5 Pro cheaper for input?

Gemini 3.1 Pro is cheaper at $2 per million input tokens, against $30 for GPT-5.5 Pro — roughly 15× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Gemini 3.1 Pro has tiered pricing: $2/$12 per MTok (≤200K); $4/$18 (>200K). Still 'Preview' as of 2026-08-29; 3.5 Pro not yet released. GPT-5.5 Pro has tiered pricing: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.

Is Gemini 3.1 Pro or GPT-5.5 Pro cheaper for output?

Gemini 3.1 Pro is cheaper at $12 per million output tokens, against $180 for GPT-5.5 Pro — roughly 15× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Gemini 3.1 Pro has tiered pricing: $2/$12 per MTok (≤200K); $4/$18 (>200K). Still 'Preview' as of 2026-08-29; 3.5 Pro not yet released. GPT-5.5 Pro has tiered pricing: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.

Which has the larger context window, Gemini 3.1 Pro or GPT-5.5 Pro?

Both accept about 1.05M tokens of context, so document length will not decide between them.

Do Gemini 3.1 Pro and GPT-5.5 Pro support the same reasoning levels?

Gemini 3.1 Pro exposes low, medium, high, while GPT-5.5 Pro exposes none, low, medium, high, xhigh, max.

Should I use Gemini 3.1 Pro or GPT-5.5 Pro?

Both sit in the frontier tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. Gemini 3.1 Pro suits very long documents; GPT-5.5 Pro suits maximum-accuracy reasoning.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: Gemini 3.1 Pro costs $2 per 1M tokens versus $30 for GPT-5.5 Pro — a 15x difference at the headline tier.
  • Context: GPT-5.5 Pro takes 1.05M against 1.05M for Gemini 3.1 Pro — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.