Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

Gemini 3.7 Flash vs Qwen 3.8 Flash Next

Google against Qwen, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.

Catalog record checked September 5, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: Insufficient data — see receipts below

Google

Gemini 3.7 Flash

Budget

vs

Qwen

Qwen 3.8 Flash Next

Budget · Open weights

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationGemini 3.7 FlashQwen 3.8 Flash Next
ProviderGoogleQwen
TierBudgetBudget
Context windowWinner: 1.05M262K
Max output66KNot verifiedUnverified
Input / 1M tokens$0.75Not verifiedUnverified
Output / 1M tokens$3.75Not verifiedUnverified
WeightsClosedOpen
ParametersNot disclosedUnverified125B total / 6B active (MoE) + 51B n-gram embedding table
Reasoning levelslow, medium, highNot verifiedUnverified
Modalitiestext, image, video, audio, pdftext, image, video
LicenseNot disclosedUnverifiedqwen-community-1.0
API model idgemini-3.7-flashqwen3.8-flash
ReleasedAugust 13, 2026August 26, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [high] (2026-08-14)56Not verifiedUnverified
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-08-28)Not verifiedUnverified56
Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-08)85.8Not verifiedUnverified
DeepSWE 1.1 (2026-08)65.3Not verifiedUnverified
Humanity's Last Exam (2026-08)53.6Not verifiedUnverified

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

  • 2026-08-28: Artificial AnalysisComposite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score. Comparability: directly comparable — AA occasionally rebaselines the index scale between snapshots — a score captured on one date is only comparable to same-snapshot scores (check measuredAt).
  • 2026-08: Google DeepMind model evaluation report (vendor, HLE-Verified full set)Agentic terminal work: multi-step tasks executed in a sandboxed shell environment. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Scores across Terminal-Bench major versions (v1 vs v2) are NOT comparable; harness configuration (container, time limits) also shifts results.

Pricing tiers: Gemini 3.7 Flash: Intro price $0.75/$3.75 per MTok through 2026-12-31, rising to $1.50/$7.50 from 2027-01-01. Multimodal input. · Qwen 3.8 Flash Next: QwenCloud reportedly prices it at $0.16/$0.47 per MTok (single source as of 2026-08-29 — left unverified). Native 262K context, extensible to 1M.

BudgetRecord checked September 5, 2026

Gemini 3.7 Flash

Gemini 3.7 Flash is Google's efficiency-first multimodal Flash (3.8 Flash of 2026-09-02 is newer and stronger; Google keeps 3.7 for cost-focused routes).

Best for

  • High-volume multimodal
  • Agent loops
  • Cost-sensitive work

Watch out

Intro pricing doubles on 2027-01-01; lock rates if deploying long-term.

BudgetOpen weightsRecord checked September 3, 2026

Qwen 3.8 Flash Next

Qwen 3.8 Flash Next is Alibaba's experimental preview of the Qwen 4 architecture — very low active parameters plus an unusual n-gram embedding component for cheap long-context.

Best for

  • Early testing of Qwen 4 architecture
  • Cheap high-throughput work
  • Multimodal input

Watch out

Experimental preview; qwen-community-1.0 license is more restrictive than MIT/Apache; benchmark claims are vendor-reported.

When the cheaper one wins

One of these rows is missing a verified output price, so this page will not name a cheaper winner. Run the model picker against the actual job instead of guessing.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: Insufficient data

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better. Hard limitations apply: missing pricing.

  • Pricing incompleteNo verified token pricing for Qwen 3.8 Flash Next.
  • 2/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: max output, parameter count, reasoning levels.
  • 1 shared named benchmark (scores match)Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index — scores are equivalent, so the benchmark does not separate the pair.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 6 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

Gemini 3.7 Flash vs Qwen 3.8 Flash Next

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Which has the larger context window, Gemini 3.7 Flash or Qwen 3.8 Flash Next?

Gemini 3.7 Flash accepts 1.05M tokens against 262K for Qwen 3.8 Flash Next. This only matters if you routinely send very long documents or large codebases.

Should I use Gemini 3.7 Flash or Qwen 3.8 Flash Next?

Both sit in the budget tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. Gemini 3.7 Flash suits high-volume multimodal; Qwen 3.8 Flash Next suits early testing of qwen 4 architecture.

Can I self-host Gemini 3.7 Flash or Qwen 3.8 Flash Next?

Qwen 3.8 Flash Next publishes open weights, but self-hosting and third-party provider access depend on the licence, hardware, serving support, and availability. Gemini 3.7 Flash is a closed model whose supported access paths are controlled by its provider.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Context: Gemini 3.7 Flash takes 1.05M against 262K for Qwen 3.8 Flash Next — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
  • Deployment: Qwen 3.8 Flash Next publishes weights you can self-host; the other is API-only.

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.