Model comparison
GLM 5.3 Flash vs Grok 4.5
Z.ai against xAI, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.
Catalog record checked September 5, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below
Z.ai
GLM 5.3 Flash
Balanced · Open weights
xAI
Grok 4.5
Balanced
| Specification | GLM 5.3 Flash | Grok 4.5 |
|---|---|---|
| Provider | Z.ai | xAI |
| Tier | Balanced | Balanced |
| Context window | Winner: 1.05M | 500K |
| Max output | 131K | 131K |
| Input / 1M tokens | Winner: $0.15 | $2 |
| Output / 1M tokens | Winner: $0.50 | $6 |
| Weights | Open | Closed |
| Parameters | 320B total / 18B active (MoE) | Not disclosedUnverified |
| Reasoning levels | Not verifiedUnverified | low, medium, high |
| Modalities | text, image, video | text, image |
| License | MIT | Not disclosedUnverified |
| API model id | Not publishedUnverified | grok-4.5 |
| Released | August 26, 2026 | July 8, 2026 |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-08-26) | 57 | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [high] (2026-08-14) | Not verifiedUnverified | 56 |
| SWE-bench Verified (2026-09-01) | 92 | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-08) | Winner: 84.3 | 83.3 |
| DeepSWE 1.1 (2026-08) | Winner: 63.4 | 54 |
| Humanity's Last Exam (2026-08) | 55.3 | Not verifiedUnverified |
Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.
Benchmark receipts
- 2026-09-01: vals.ai SWE-bench Verified leaderboard (independent, mini-swe-agent bash-only); not published by Z.aiReal GitHub issue resolution: does the model's patch pass the hidden tests. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Post-audit vendor claims and pre-audit scores sit on different task trust levels; scaffolding (agent harness, compute budget) also dominates results. Never aggregate across scaffolds.
- 2026-08-14: Artificial AnalysisComposite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score. Comparability: directly comparable — AA occasionally rebaselines the index scale between snapshots — a score captured on one date is only comparable to same-snapshot scores (check measuredAt).
- 2026-08: Z.ai GLM-5.3-Flash blog (vendor, mini-swe-agent, 400K context)Agentic software engineering: pass@1 on real repo tasks with reported cost per completed task. Comparability: directly comparable
- 2026-08: GLM-5.3-Flash HF model card (vendor, with tools, full set)Agentic terminal work: multi-step tasks executed in a sandboxed shell environment. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Scores across Terminal-Bench major versions (v1 vs v2) are NOT comparable; harness configuration (container, time limits) also shifts results.
- 2026-07-16: xAI — Introducing Grok 4.5 (vendor; Datacurve-run)Agentic terminal work: multi-step tasks executed in a sandboxed shell environment. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Scores across Terminal-Bench major versions (v1 vs v2) are NOT comparable; harness configuration (container, time limits) also shifts results.
- 2026-07: Google DeepMind 3.6 Flash evaluation report (independent tabulation; conflicts with xAI's 53 — both preserved)Agentic software engineering: pass@1 on real repo tasks with reported cost per completed task. Comparability: directly comparable
Pricing tiers: GLM 5.3 Flash: $0.15/$0.50 per MTok is the standard first-party and third-party rate (Z.ai docs; GMI, Novita, Together). A 50% promo tier runs $0.075/$0.25 — confirm which rate your account quotes. · Grok 4.5: $2/$6 per MTok (<200K prompt); $4/$12 (≥200K). Cached input $0.30/MTok.
GLM 5.3 Flash
GLM 5.3 Flash is Z.ai's natively multimodal open-weight workhorse — 1M context, hybrid sparse/linear attention, near-flagship Intelligence Index at a fraction of the cost.
Best for
- Cost-efficient long-context
- Multimodal input
- Coding agents
Watch out
Self-hosting needs ~186GB GPU memory at 4-bit (multi-GPU). Third-party hosts charge more than Z.ai's own API.
Grok 4.5
Grok 4.5 is xAI's balanced model with a 500K context and real-time X integration.
Best for
- Real-time data queries
- Technical tasks
- Cost-sensitive reasoning
Watch out
A step behind Grok 4.6; 500K context is smaller than the 1M-class models.
When the cheaper one wins
GLM 5.3 Flash is cheaper on output at $0.50 per million tokens against $6 for Grok 4.5 — about 12×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.
Run the model pickerEvidence confidence: High
How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.
- Pricing verified on both sides — Input and output rates are verified for both models.
- 3/5 core specs verified on both sides — Not published for at least one side: parameter count, reasoning levels.
- 3 shared named benchmarks with differing scores — Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, Terminal-Bench 2.1, DeepSWE 1.1.
- Verified within the last 90 days — Newest catalog check was 6 days ago.
- Both models carry source citations — Each side has at least two catalog sources on record.
Source receipts
Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.
- GLM 5.3 Flash: Z.ai — GLM-5.3-Flash announcement (accessed 2026-08-29)
- GLM 5.3 Flash: getdeploying — GLM-5.3-Flash reference (accessed 2026-08-29)
- GLM 5.3 Flash: GMI Cloud — GLM-5.3-Flash analysis (accessed 2026-08-29)
- Grok 4.5: xAI — Introducing Grok 4.5 (public launch 8 Jul 2026; formal announcement 16 Jul) (accessed 2026-08-29)
- Grok 4.5: xAI pricing (grok-4.5 $2/$6, 500K) (accessed 2026-08-29)
Related comparisons
- Gemini 3.7 Flash vs GLM 5.3 Flash
- GLM 5.2 vs Grok 4.5
- GLM 5.3 vs Grok 4.5
- Amazon Nova 2 Pro vs GLM 5.3 Flash
- Amazon Nova 2 Pro vs Grok 4.5
- Claude Sonnet 5 vs GLM 5.3 Flash
Diving deeper on one model? GLM 5.3 Flash · Grok 4.5
Common questions
GLM 5.3 Flash vs Grok 4.5
Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.
Is GLM 5.3 Flash or Grok 4.5 cheaper for input?
GLM 5.3 Flash is cheaper at $0.15 per million input tokens, against $2 for Grok 4.5 — roughly 13× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GLM 5.3 Flash has tiered pricing: $0.15/$0.50 per MTok is the standard first-party and third-party rate (Z.ai docs; GMI, Novita, Together). A 50% promo tier runs $0.075/$0.25 — confirm which rate your account quotes. Grok 4.5 has tiered pricing: $2/$6 per MTok (<200K prompt); $4/$12 (≥200K). Cached input $0.30/MTok.
Is GLM 5.3 Flash or Grok 4.5 cheaper for output?
GLM 5.3 Flash is cheaper at $0.50 per million output tokens, against $6 for Grok 4.5 — roughly 12× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GLM 5.3 Flash has tiered pricing: $0.15/$0.50 per MTok is the standard first-party and third-party rate (Z.ai docs; GMI, Novita, Together). A 50% promo tier runs $0.075/$0.25 — confirm which rate your account quotes. Grok 4.5 has tiered pricing: $2/$6 per MTok (<200K prompt); $4/$12 (≥200K). Cached input $0.30/MTok.
Which has the larger context window, GLM 5.3 Flash or Grok 4.5?
GLM 5.3 Flash accepts 1.05M tokens against 500K for Grok 4.5. This only matters if you routinely send very long documents or large codebases.
Should I use GLM 5.3 Flash or Grok 4.5?
Both sit in the balanced tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. GLM 5.3 Flash suits cost-efficient long-context; Grok 4.5 suits real-time data queries.
Can I self-host GLM 5.3 Flash or Grok 4.5?
GLM 5.3 Flash publishes open weights, but self-hosting and third-party provider access depend on the licence, hardware, serving support, and availability. Grok 4.5 is a closed model whose supported access paths are controlled by its provider.
Next step
Choosing between them
The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.
- Input price: GLM 5.3 Flash costs $0.15 per 1M tokens versus $2 for Grok 4.5 — a 13.3x difference at the headline tier.
- Context: GLM 5.3 Flash takes 1.05M against 500K for Grok 4.5 — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
- Measured capability: GLM 5.3 Flash leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 57 to 56 (measured 2026-08-26).
- Deployment: GLM 5.3 Flash publishes weights you can self-host; the other is API-only.
Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.