Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

GPT-5.2 vs Grok 4.5

OpenAI against xAI, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.

Catalog record checked September 5, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

OpenAI

GPT-5.2

Balanced

vs

xAI

Grok 4.5

Balanced

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationGPT-5.2Grok 4.5
ProviderOpenAIxAI
TierBalancedBalanced
Context window400KWinner: 500K
Max output128KWinner: 131K
Input / 1M tokensWinner: $1.75$2
Output / 1M tokens$14Winner: $6
WeightsClosedClosed
ParametersNot disclosedUnverifiedNot disclosedUnverified
Reasoning levelsnone, low, medium, high, xhigh, maxlow, medium, high
Modalitiestext, imagetext, image
API model idgpt-5.2grok-4.5
ReleasedDecember 11, 2025July 8, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [high] (2026-08-14)50Winner: 56
Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-07-16)Not verifiedUnverified83.3
DeepSWE 1.1 (2026-07)Not verifiedUnverified54

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

Pricing tiers: GPT-5.2: Standard $1.75/$14 per MTok; cached input $0.175/MTok; batch $0.875/$7. (gpt-5.2-pro exists at $21/$168.) · Grok 4.5: $2/$6 per MTok (<200K prompt); $4/$12 (≥200K). Cached input $0.30/MTok.

BalancedRecord checked September 3, 2026

GPT-5.2

GPT-5.2 was OpenAI's previous flagship — still a strong, widely integrated general model at $1.75/$14.

Best for

  • General production
  • Agentic workflows
  • Knowledge work

Watch out

Two generations behind GPT-5.6; capable but no longer flagship.

BalancedRecord checked September 5, 2026

Grok 4.5

Grok 4.5 is xAI's balanced model with a 500K context and real-time X integration.

Best for

  • Real-time data queries
  • Technical tasks
  • Cost-sensitive reasoning

Watch out

A step behind Grok 4.6; 500K context is smaller than the 1M-class models.

When the cheaper one wins

Grok 4.5 is cheaper on output at $6 per million tokens against $14 for GPT-5.2 — about 2.3×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sidesInput and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 4/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: parameter count.
  • 1 shared named benchmark with differing scoresMeasured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 6 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

GPT-5.2 vs Grok 4.5

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is GPT-5.2 or Grok 4.5 cheaper for input?

GPT-5.2 is cheaper at $1.75 per million input tokens, against $2 for Grok 4.5 — roughly 1.1× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GPT-5.2 has tiered pricing: Standard $1.75/$14 per MTok; cached input $0.175/MTok; batch $0.875/$7. (gpt-5.2-pro exists at $21/$168.) Grok 4.5 has tiered pricing: $2/$6 per MTok (<200K prompt); $4/$12 (≥200K). Cached input $0.30/MTok.

Is GPT-5.2 or Grok 4.5 cheaper for output?

Grok 4.5 is cheaper at $6 per million output tokens, against $14 for GPT-5.2 — roughly 2.3× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GPT-5.2 has tiered pricing: Standard $1.75/$14 per MTok; cached input $0.175/MTok; batch $0.875/$7. (gpt-5.2-pro exists at $21/$168.) Grok 4.5 has tiered pricing: $2/$6 per MTok (<200K prompt); $4/$12 (≥200K). Cached input $0.30/MTok.

Which has the larger context window, GPT-5.2 or Grok 4.5?

Grok 4.5 accepts 500K tokens against 400K for GPT-5.2. This only matters if you routinely send very long documents or large codebases.

Do GPT-5.2 and Grok 4.5 support the same reasoning levels?

GPT-5.2 exposes none, low, medium, high, xhigh, max, while Grok 4.5 exposes low, medium, high.

Should I use GPT-5.2 or Grok 4.5?

Both sit in the balanced tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. GPT-5.2 suits general production; Grok 4.5 suits real-time data queries.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: GPT-5.2 costs $1.75 per 1M tokens versus $2 for Grok 4.5 — a 1.1x difference at the headline tier.
  • Context: Grok 4.5 takes 500K against 400K for GPT-5.2 — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
  • Measured capability: Grok 4.5 leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 56 to 50 (measured 2026-08-14).

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.