Model comparison
GPT-5.4 Mini vs GPT-5.5 Pro
Two OpenAI tiers compared on the figures that decide which one a workload actually needs.
Catalog record checked September 3, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below
OpenAI
GPT-5.4 Mini
Balanced
OpenAI
GPT-5.5 Pro
Frontier
| Specification | GPT-5.4 Mini | GPT-5.5 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Provider | OpenAI | OpenAI |
| Tier | Balanced | Frontier |
| Context window | 400K | Winner: 1.05M |
| Max output | 128K | 128K |
| Input / 1M tokens | Winner: $0.75 | $30 |
| Output / 1M tokens | Winner: $4.50 | $180 |
| Weights | Closed | Closed |
| Parameters | Not disclosedUnverified | Not disclosedUnverified |
| Reasoning levels | none, low, medium, high | none, low, medium, high, xhigh, max |
| Modalities | text, image | text, image |
| API model id | gpt-5.4-mini | gpt-5.5-pro |
| Released | March 17, 2026 | April 23, 2026 |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [high] (2026-08-14) | 46 | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [xhigh] (2026-08-14) | Not verifiedUnverified | 60 |
Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.
Benchmark receipts
- 2026-08-14: Artificial AnalysisComposite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score. Comparability: directly comparable — AA occasionally rebaselines the index scale between snapshots — a score captured on one date is only comparable to same-snapshot scores (check measuredAt).
Pricing tiers: GPT-5.4 Mini: Standard $0.75/$4.50 per MTok; cached input $0.075/MTok; batch $0.375/$2.25. · GPT-5.5 Pro: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.
GPT-5.4 Mini
GPT-5.4 Mini is OpenAI's efficient mid-tier for high-volume, well-scoped tasks at $0.75/$4.50.
Best for
- High-volume calls
- Mixed workloads
- Cost-sensitive production
Watch out
400K context (vs 1.05M on GPT-5.4/5.5/5.6); verify long-context needs.
GPT-5.5 Pro
GPT-5.5 Pro is OpenAI's highest-effort tier for maximal accuracy on the hardest tasks.
Best for
- Maximum-accuracy reasoning
- Research
- Hard enterprise workloads
Watch out
At $30/$180 per MTok it is the most expensive OpenAI tier; reserve for work that needs it.
When the cheaper one wins
GPT-5.4 Mini is cheaper on output at $4.50 per million tokens against $180 for GPT-5.5 Pro — about 40×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.
Run the model pickerEvidence confidence: High
How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.
- Pricing verified on both sides — Input and output rates are verified for both models.
- 4/5 core specs verified on both sides — Not published for at least one side: parameter count.
- 1 shared named benchmark with differing scores — Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
- Verified within the last 90 days — Newest catalog check was 8 days ago.
- Both models carry source citations — Each side has at least two catalog sources on record.
Source receipts
Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.
- GPT-5.4 Mini: OpenAI — GPT-5.4 Mini & Nano (accessed 2026-08-29)
- GPT-5.4 Mini: OpenAI API pricing (gpt-5.4-mini $0.75/$4.50) (accessed 2026-08-29)
- GPT-5.5 Pro: OpenAI — Introducing GPT-5.5 (accessed 2026-08-29)
- GPT-5.5 Pro: OpenAI API pricing (gpt-5.5-pro $30/$180) (accessed 2026-08-29)
Related comparisons
- Amazon Nova 2 Pro vs GPT-5.4 Mini
- Claude Fable 5.1 vs GPT-5.5 Pro
- Claude Fable 5 vs GPT-5.5 Pro
- Claude Mythos 5.1 vs GPT-5.5 Pro
- Claude Opus 5 vs GPT-5.5 Pro
- Claude Sonnet 5 vs GPT-5.4 Mini
Diving deeper on one model? GPT-5.4 Mini · GPT-5.5 Pro
Common questions
GPT-5.4 Mini vs GPT-5.5 Pro
Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.
Is GPT-5.4 Mini or GPT-5.5 Pro cheaper for input?
GPT-5.4 Mini is cheaper at $0.75 per million input tokens, against $30 for GPT-5.5 Pro — roughly 40× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GPT-5.4 Mini has tiered pricing: Standard $0.75/$4.50 per MTok; cached input $0.075/MTok; batch $0.375/$2.25. GPT-5.5 Pro has tiered pricing: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.
Is GPT-5.4 Mini or GPT-5.5 Pro cheaper for output?
GPT-5.4 Mini is cheaper at $4.50 per million output tokens, against $180 for GPT-5.5 Pro — roughly 40× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GPT-5.4 Mini has tiered pricing: Standard $0.75/$4.50 per MTok; cached input $0.075/MTok; batch $0.375/$2.25. GPT-5.5 Pro has tiered pricing: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.
Which has the larger context window, GPT-5.4 Mini or GPT-5.5 Pro?
GPT-5.5 Pro accepts 1.05M tokens against 400K for GPT-5.4 Mini. This only matters if you routinely send very long documents or large codebases.
Do GPT-5.4 Mini and GPT-5.5 Pro support the same reasoning levels?
GPT-5.4 Mini exposes none, low, medium, high, while GPT-5.5 Pro exposes none, low, medium, high, xhigh, max.
Should I use GPT-5.4 Mini or GPT-5.5 Pro?
GPT-5.4 Mini is the balanced tier and GPT-5.5 Pro the frontier tier. The useful question is whether your hardest task actually fails on the cheaper one — most production volume such as classification, extraction and summarisation does not.
Next step
Choosing between them
The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.
- Input price: GPT-5.4 Mini costs $0.75 per 1M tokens versus $30 for GPT-5.5 Pro — a 40x difference at the headline tier.
- Context: GPT-5.5 Pro takes 1.05M against 400K for GPT-5.4 Mini — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
- Measured capability: GPT-5.5 Pro leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 60 to 46 (measured 2026-08-14).
- Positioning: GPT-5.4 Mini sits in the balanced tier, GPT-5.5 Pro in the frontier tier — most production volume (classification, extraction, summarisation) does not need the pricier tier.
Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.