Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

GPT-5.4 vs GPT-5.5 Pro

Two OpenAI tiers compared on the figures that decide which one a workload actually needs.

Catalog record checked September 3, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

OpenAI

GPT-5.4

Balanced

vs

OpenAI

GPT-5.5 Pro

Frontier

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationGPT-5.4GPT-5.5 Pro
ProviderOpenAIOpenAI
TierBalancedFrontier
Context window1.05M1.05M
Max output128K128K
Input / 1M tokensWinner: $2.50$30
Output / 1M tokensWinner: $15$180
WeightsClosedClosed
ParametersNot disclosedUnverifiedNot disclosedUnverified
Reasoning levelsnone, low, medium, high, xhigh, maxnone, low, medium, high, xhigh, max
Modalitiestext, imagetext, image
API model idgpt-5.4gpt-5.5-pro
ReleasedMarch 5, 2026April 23, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [xhigh] (2026-08-14)54Winner: 60

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

  • 2026-08-14: Artificial AnalysisComposite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score. Comparability: directly comparable — AA occasionally rebaselines the index scale between snapshots — a score captured on one date is only comparable to same-snapshot scores (check measuredAt).

Pricing tiers: GPT-5.4: Standard $2.50/$15 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.25/MTok; batch $1.25/$7.50. · GPT-5.5 Pro: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.

BalancedRecord checked September 3, 2026

GPT-5.4

GPT-5.4 is OpenAI's balanced 2026 workhorse with a 1.05M-token context at $2.50/$15.

Best for

  • General production
  • Agentic workflows
  • Knowledge work

Watch out

A generation behind GPT-5.6; still widely used and well-supported.

FrontierRecord checked September 3, 2026

GPT-5.5 Pro

GPT-5.5 Pro is OpenAI's highest-effort tier for maximal accuracy on the hardest tasks.

Best for

  • Maximum-accuracy reasoning
  • Research
  • Hard enterprise workloads

Watch out

At $30/$180 per MTok it is the most expensive OpenAI tier; reserve for work that needs it.

When the cheaper one wins

GPT-5.4 is cheaper on output at $15 per million tokens against $180 for GPT-5.5 Pro — about 12×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sidesInput and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 4/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: parameter count.
  • 1 shared named benchmark with differing scoresMeasured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 8 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

GPT-5.4 vs GPT-5.5 Pro

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is GPT-5.4 or GPT-5.5 Pro cheaper for input?

GPT-5.4 is cheaper at $2.50 per million input tokens, against $30 for GPT-5.5 Pro — roughly 12× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GPT-5.4 has tiered pricing: Standard $2.50/$15 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.25/MTok; batch $1.25/$7.50. GPT-5.5 Pro has tiered pricing: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.

Is GPT-5.4 or GPT-5.5 Pro cheaper for output?

GPT-5.4 is cheaper at $15 per million output tokens, against $180 for GPT-5.5 Pro — roughly 12× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GPT-5.4 has tiered pricing: Standard $2.50/$15 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.25/MTok; batch $1.25/$7.50. GPT-5.5 Pro has tiered pricing: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.

Which has the larger context window, GPT-5.4 or GPT-5.5 Pro?

Both accept about 1.05M tokens of context, so document length will not decide between them.

Do GPT-5.4 and GPT-5.5 Pro support the same reasoning levels?

Yes — both accept the same effort settings: "none", "low", "medium", "high", "xhigh", "max". Higher effort costs more and takes longer, so start low and raise it only where output quality actually improves.

Should I use GPT-5.4 or GPT-5.5 Pro?

GPT-5.4 is the balanced tier and GPT-5.5 Pro the frontier tier. The useful question is whether your hardest task actually fails on the cheaper one — most production volume such as classification, extraction and summarisation does not.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: GPT-5.4 costs $2.50 per 1M tokens versus $30 for GPT-5.5 Pro — a 12x difference at the headline tier.
  • Measured capability: GPT-5.5 Pro leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 60 to 54 (measured 2026-08-14).
  • Positioning: GPT-5.4 sits in the balanced tier, GPT-5.5 Pro in the frontier tier — most production volume (classification, extraction, summarisation) does not need the pricier tier.

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.