Model comparison
GPT-5.4 vs Kimi K2.6
OpenAI against Moonshot AI, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.
Catalog record checked September 26, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below
OpenAI
GPT-5.4
Balanced
Moonshot AI
Kimi K2.6
Balanced · Open weights
| Specification | GPT-5.4 | Kimi K2.6 |
|---|---|---|
| Provider | ||
| Provider | OpenAI | Moonshot AI |
| Tier | ||
| Tier | Balanced | Balanced |
| Context window | ||
| Context window | Winner: 1.05M | 262K |
| Max output | ||
| Max output | 128K | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Input / 1M tokens | ||
| Input / 1M tokens | $2.50 | Winner: $0.95 |
| Output / 1M tokens | ||
| Output / 1M tokens | $15 | Winner: $4 |
| Weights | ||
| Weights | Closed | Open |
| Parameters | ||
| Parameters | Not disclosedUnverified | 1T total / 32B active (MoE, 384 experts) |
| Reasoning levels | ||
| Reasoning levels | none, low, medium, high, xhigh | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Modalities | ||
| Modalities | text, image | text, image, video |
| License | ||
| License | Not disclosedUnverified | Modified MIT |
| API model id | ||
| API model id | gpt-5.4 | kimi-k2.6 |
| Released | ||
| Released | March 5, 2026 | April 20, 2026 |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [xhigh] (2026-09-26) | ||
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [xhigh] (2026-09-26) | 39 | Not verifiedUnverified |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-09-26) | ||
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-09-26) | Not verifiedUnverified | 27 |
Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.
Benchmark receipts
Where each score comes from, and how far it can be compared across models.
- 2026-09-26Artificial Analysis
Composite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score.
Comparable with caveatOnly same-version scores are comparable. v4.3.2 was rebaselined (the top score fell from 66 on v4.1.1 to ~58), so v4.1.1 figures must not be compared with v4.3.2 figures — check measuredAt.
Pricing tiers
GPT-5.4: Standard $2.50/$15 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.25/MTok; batch $1.25/$7.50.
Kimi K2.6: $0.95/$4.00 per MTok on the Moonshot API; cached input $0.16. No documented hard output cap; evals ran 98,304-token generations.
GPT-5.4
GPT-5.4 is OpenAI's balanced 2026 workhorse with a 1.05M-token context at $2.50/$15.
Best for
- General production
- Agentic workflows
- Knowledge work
Watch out
Two generations behind GPT-6 (OpenAI's model pages now recommend GPT-6 Astra); still widely used and well-supported.
Kimi K2.6
Kimi K2.6 is Moonshot's open-weight volume workhorse — a 1T MoE with native image/video input at 256K context, the base Kimi K2.7-Code and K3 build on.
Best for
- Open-weight volume work
- Multimodal input on a budget
- Self-hosting at mid size
Watch out
256K context is small next to K3's 1M; video input is experimental (official API only). No documented hard output cap.
When the cheaper one wins
Kimi K2.6 is cheaper on output at $4 per million tokens against $15 for GPT-5.4 — about 3.8×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.
Run the model pickerEvidence confidence: High
How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.
- Pricing verified on both sides — Input and output rates are verified for both models.
- 2/5 core specs verified on both sides — Not published for at least one side: max output, parameter count, reasoning levels.
- 1 shared named benchmark with differing scores — Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
- Verified within the last 90 days — Newest catalog check was 2 days ago.
- Both models carry source citations — Each side has at least two catalog sources on record.
Source receipts
Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.
- GPT-5.4: OpenAI — Introducing GPT-5.4 (accessed 2026-08-29)
- GPT-5.4: OpenAI API pricing (gpt-5.4 $2.50/$15) (accessed 2026-08-29)
- Kimi K2.6: HuggingFace — Kimi K2.6 model card (accessed 2026-08-29)
- Kimi K2.6: Kimi — K2.6 pricing (accessed 2026-08-29)
- Kimi K2.6: Moonshot platform pricing (kimi-k2.6) (accessed 2026-09-26)
Related comparisons
Common questions
GPT-5.4 vs Kimi K2.6
Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.
Is GPT-5.4 or Kimi K2.6 cheaper for input?
Is GPT-5.4 or Kimi K2.6 cheaper for output?
Which has the larger context window, GPT-5.4 or Kimi K2.6?
Should I use GPT-5.4 or Kimi K2.6?
Can I self-host GPT-5.4 or Kimi K2.6?
Next step
Choosing between them
The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.
- Input price: Kimi K2.6 costs $0.95 per 1M tokens versus $2.50 for GPT-5.4 — a 2.6x difference at the headline tier.
- Context: GPT-5.4 takes 1.05M against 262K for Kimi K2.6 — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
- Deployment: Kimi K2.6 publishes weights you can self-host; the other is API-only.
Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.