Model comparison
Mistral Medium 3.5 vs Upstage Solar Pro 4
Mistral against Upstage, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.
Catalog record checked September 26, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below
Mistral
Mistral Medium 3.5
Frontier · Open weights
Upstage
Upstage Solar Pro 4
Frontier
| Specification | Mistral Medium 3.5 | Upstage Solar Pro 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Provider | ||
| Provider | Mistral | Upstage |
| Tier | ||
| Tier | Frontier | Frontier |
| Context window | ||
| Context window | 262K | Winner: 524K |
| Max output | ||
| Max output | Not verifiedUnverified | 128K |
| Input / 1M tokens | ||
| Input / 1M tokens | $1.50 | Winner: $0.30 |
| Output / 1M tokens | ||
| Output / 1M tokens | $7.50 | Winner: $1.20 |
| Weights | ||
| Weights | Open | Closed |
| Parameters | ||
| Parameters | 128B dense | Not disclosedUnverified |
| Reasoning levels | ||
| Reasoning levels | Not verifiedUnverified | low, medium, high |
| Modalities | ||
| Modalities | text, image | text |
| License | ||
| License | Modified MIT | Not disclosedUnverified |
| API model id | ||
| API model id | mistral-medium-3-5 | solar-pro4 |
| Released | ||
| Released | April 28, 2026 | August 10, 2026 |
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-09-26) | ||
| Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-09-26) | 14.2 | Winner: 28.2 |
Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.
Benchmark receipts
Where each score comes from, and how far it can be compared across models.
- 2026-09-26Artificial Analysis (AA-estimated)
Composite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score.
Comparable with caveatOnly same-version scores are comparable. v4.3.2 was rebaselined (the top score fell from 66 on v4.1.1 to ~58), so v4.1.1 figures must not be compared with v4.3.2 figures — check measuredAt.
Pricing tiers
Mistral Medium 3.5: Mistral first-party API $1.50/$7.50 per MTok; Mistral advertises up to 90% off cached input (exact cached rate not verified). Open weights under a Modified MIT licence. 128B dense.
Upstage Solar Pro 4: List $0.30/$1.20 per MTok; cached input $0.06. The 90%-off launch promo ended 2026-09-10. Closed API. 524K context with up to 128K output.
Mistral Medium 3.5
Mistral Medium 3.5 is the model Mistral calls its new flagship — a 128B dense open-weight model with a 256K context, powering its Vibe remote agents.
Best for
- EU-hosted frontier work
- Open-weight self-hosting
- Mistral Vibe agents
Watch out
Far behind US and Chinese frontier models on the Artificial Analysis index; max output is not published. Check the Modified MIT terms before redistribution.
Upstage Solar Pro 4
Solar Pro 4 is Upstage's closed flagship with a 524K context at a low $0.30/$1.20 list price.
Best for
- Long-context
- Cost-sensitive API
- Korean + English
Watch out
Closed API; the launch promo has ended, so budget at the $0.30/$1.20 list rate.
When the cheaper one wins
Upstage Solar Pro 4 is cheaper on output at $1.20 per million tokens against $7.50 for Mistral Medium 3.5 — about 6.3×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.
Run the model pickerEvidence confidence: High
How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.
- Pricing verified on both sides — Input and output rates are verified for both models.
- 2/5 core specs verified on both sides — Not published for at least one side: max output, parameter count, reasoning levels.
- 1 shared named benchmark with differing scores — Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
- Verified within the last 90 days — Newest catalog check was 2 days ago.
- Both models carry source citations — Each side has at least two catalog sources on record.
Source receipts
Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.
- Mistral Medium 3.5: Mistral docs — Mistral Medium 3.5 (26.04) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- Mistral Medium 3.5: Mistral — Vibe remote agents and Mistral Medium 3.5 (accessed 2026-09-26)
- Mistral Medium 3.5: Mistral changelog (2026-04-28) (accessed 2026-09-26)
- Upstage Solar Pro 4: Upstage — Solar Pro 4 (accessed 2026-08-29)
- Upstage Solar Pro 4: Upstage (accessed 2026-08-29)
Related comparisons
- Claude Fable 5.1 vs Mistral Medium 3.5
- Claude Fable 5.1 vs Upstage Solar Pro 4
- Claude Fable 5 vs Mistral Medium 3.5
- Claude Fable 5 vs Upstage Solar Pro 4
- Claude Mythos 5.1 vs Mistral Medium 3.5
- Claude Mythos 5.1 vs Upstage Solar Pro 4
Diving deeper on one model? Mistral Medium 3.5 · Upstage Solar Pro 4
Common questions
Mistral Medium 3.5 vs Upstage Solar Pro 4
Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.
Is Mistral Medium 3.5 or Upstage Solar Pro 4 cheaper for input?
Is Mistral Medium 3.5 or Upstage Solar Pro 4 cheaper for output?
Which has the larger context window, Mistral Medium 3.5 or Upstage Solar Pro 4?
Should I use Mistral Medium 3.5 or Upstage Solar Pro 4?
Can I self-host Mistral Medium 3.5 or Upstage Solar Pro 4?
Next step
Choosing between them
The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.
- Input price: Upstage Solar Pro 4 costs $0.30 per 1M tokens versus $1.50 for Mistral Medium 3.5 — a 5x difference at the headline tier.
- Context: Upstage Solar Pro 4 takes 524K against 262K for Mistral Medium 3.5 — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
- Deployment: Mistral Medium 3.5 publishes weights you can self-host; the other is API-only.
Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.