Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

Claude Fable 5.1 vs DeepSeek V4 Pro

Anthropic against DeepSeek, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.

Catalog record checked September 3, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

Anthropic

Claude Fable 5.1

Frontier

vs

DeepSeek

DeepSeek V4 Pro

Frontier · Open weights

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationClaude Fable 5.1DeepSeek V4 Pro
ProviderAnthropicDeepSeek
TierFrontierFrontier
Context window1M1M
Max output128KWinner: 384K
Input / 1M tokens$10Winner: $1.32
Output / 1M tokens$50Winner: $3.96
WeightsClosedOpen
ParametersNot disclosedUnverified1.6T total / 49B active (MoE)
Reasoning levelsadaptivelow, high, max
Modalitiestext, imagetext
LicenseNot disclosedUnverifiedMIT
API model idclaude-fable-5-1deepseek-v4-pro
ReleasedSeptember 1, 2026April 24, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-08-14)Winner: 6653
Humanity's Last Exam (2026-09-01)Winner: 6548.2
Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-09-05)91.4Not verifiedUnverified
DeepSWE 1.1 (2026-09-03)67.4Not verifiedUnverified
SWE-bench Verified (2026-04-24)Not verifiedUnverified80.6
GPQA Diamond (2026-04-24)Not verifiedUnverified90.1
MMLU-Pro (2026-04-24)Not verifiedUnverified87.5

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

Pricing tiers: Claude Fable 5.1: Priced with Fable 5 at $10/$50 per MTok; cache reads cut 75% to $0.25/MTok. Adaptive thinking always on (default effort high); knowledge cutoff Jun 2026. Sibling Mythos 5.1 launched the same day. · DeepSeek V4 Pro: Official peak rates $1.32/$3.96 per MTok; off-peak $0.66/$1.98 (cache-miss). Open weights (MIT). 1.6T/49B active MoE.

FrontierRecord checked September 3, 2026

Claude Fable 5.1

Claude Fable 5.1 is Anthropic's September 2026 flagship refresh, debuting at the top of LiveBench and the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.

Best for

  • Frontier agents
  • Hardest reasoning work
  • Fable 5 workloads at the same price

Watch out

Early-life model: leaderboard position is from launch-week boards; recheck before committing spend.

FrontierOpen weightsRecord checked September 3, 2026

DeepSeek V4 Pro

DeepSeek V4 Pro is the open-weight (MIT) flagship with a 1M-token context at a fraction of frontier API cost.

Best for

  • Cost-sensitive hosted agents
  • Open-weight deployments
  • High-volume coding

Watch out

Self-hosting needs datacentre VRAM; hosted rates vary by provider. Price single-source — verify.

When the cheaper one wins

DeepSeek V4 Pro is cheaper on output at $3.96 per million tokens against $50 for Claude Fable 5.1 — about 13×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sidesInput and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 4/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: parameter count.
  • 2 shared named benchmarks with differing scoresMeasured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, Humanity's Last Exam.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 8 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

Claude Fable 5.1 vs DeepSeek V4 Pro

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is Claude Fable 5.1 or DeepSeek V4 Pro cheaper for input?

DeepSeek V4 Pro is cheaper at $1.32 per million input tokens, against $10 for Claude Fable 5.1 — roughly 7.6× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Claude Fable 5.1 has tiered pricing: Priced with Fable 5 at $10/$50 per MTok; cache reads cut 75% to $0.25/MTok. Adaptive thinking always on (default effort high); knowledge cutoff Jun 2026. Sibling Mythos 5.1 launched the same day. DeepSeek V4 Pro has tiered pricing: Official peak rates $1.32/$3.96 per MTok; off-peak $0.66/$1.98 (cache-miss). Open weights (MIT). 1.6T/49B active MoE.

Is Claude Fable 5.1 or DeepSeek V4 Pro cheaper for output?

DeepSeek V4 Pro is cheaper at $3.96 per million output tokens, against $50 for Claude Fable 5.1 — roughly 13× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Claude Fable 5.1 has tiered pricing: Priced with Fable 5 at $10/$50 per MTok; cache reads cut 75% to $0.25/MTok. Adaptive thinking always on (default effort high); knowledge cutoff Jun 2026. Sibling Mythos 5.1 launched the same day. DeepSeek V4 Pro has tiered pricing: Official peak rates $1.32/$3.96 per MTok; off-peak $0.66/$1.98 (cache-miss). Open weights (MIT). 1.6T/49B active MoE.

Which has the larger context window, Claude Fable 5.1 or DeepSeek V4 Pro?

Both accept about 1M tokens of context, so document length will not decide between them.

Do Claude Fable 5.1 and DeepSeek V4 Pro support the same reasoning levels?

Claude Fable 5.1 exposes adaptive, while DeepSeek V4 Pro exposes low, high, max.

Should I use Claude Fable 5.1 or DeepSeek V4 Pro?

Both sit in the frontier tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. Claude Fable 5.1 suits frontier agents; DeepSeek V4 Pro suits cost-sensitive hosted agents.

Can I self-host Claude Fable 5.1 or DeepSeek V4 Pro?

DeepSeek V4 Pro publishes open weights, but self-hosting and third-party provider access depend on the licence, hardware, serving support, and availability. Claude Fable 5.1 is a closed model whose supported access paths are controlled by its provider.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: DeepSeek V4 Pro costs $1.32 per 1M tokens versus $10 for Claude Fable 5.1 — a 7.6x difference at the headline tier.
  • Measured capability: Claude Fable 5.1 leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 66 to 53 (measured 2026-08-14).
  • Deployment: DeepSeek V4 Pro publishes weights you can self-host; the other is API-only.

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.