Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

Claude Fable 5.1 vs GLM 5.3

Anthropic against Z.ai, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.

Catalog record checked September 3, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

Anthropic

Claude Fable 5.1

Frontier

vs

Z.ai

GLM 5.3

Frontier · Open weights

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationClaude Fable 5.1GLM 5.3
ProviderAnthropicZ.ai
TierFrontierFrontier
Context window1M1M
Max output128K128K
Input / 1M tokens$10Winner: $1.40
Output / 1M tokens$50Winner: $4.40
WeightsClosedOpen
ParametersNot disclosedUnverified753B total (MoE; active count unpublished)
Reasoning levelsadaptivelow, high, max
Modalitiestext, imagetext
LicenseNot disclosedUnverifiedglm-5.3 (custom)
API model idclaude-fable-5-1glm-5.3
ReleasedSeptember 1, 2026August 14, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-08-14)66Not verifiedUnverified
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [max] (2026-08-14)Not verifiedUnverified60
Humanity's Last Exam (2026-09-01)Winner: 6562.5
Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-09-05)Winner: 91.488.2
DeepSWE 1.1 (2026-09-03)Winner: 67.466.9
SWE-bench Verified (2026-09-01)Not verifiedUnverified95.4

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

Pricing tiers: Claude Fable 5.1: Priced with Fable 5 at $10/$50 per MTok; cache reads cut 75% to $0.25/MTok. Adaptive thinking always on (default effort high); knowledge cutoff Jun 2026. Sibling Mythos 5.1 launched the same day. · GLM 5.3: Token API listed at $1.40/$4.40 per MTok from 2026-08-18 (cached input $0.26); Coding Plan access on a points quota. 1M context, 128K max output per official docs; thinking always on. 753B total MoE per the Hugging Face card (active count unpublished).

FrontierRecord checked September 3, 2026

Claude Fable 5.1

Claude Fable 5.1 is Anthropic's September 2026 flagship refresh, debuting at the top of LiveBench and the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.

Best for

  • Frontier agents
  • Hardest reasoning work
  • Fable 5 workloads at the same price

Watch out

Early-life model: leaderboard position is from launch-week boards; recheck before committing spend.

FrontierOpen weightsRecord checked September 3, 2026

GLM 5.3

GLM 5.3 is Zhipu's flagship (~753B MoE), near the top of the leaderboards, and the current GLM Coding Plan default.

Best for

  • Coding Plan subscribers
  • Long-horizon coding
  • Chinese + English

Watch out

Open weights dropped 2026-08-28 under Z.ai's custom glm-5.3 licence (not a standard open-source licence — review before commercial use; secondary coverage says >$10B-revenue providers need a security review). 5.2/5.1 Coding Plan requests route to 5.3.

When the cheaper one wins

GLM 5.3 is cheaper on output at $4.40 per million tokens against $50 for Claude Fable 5.1 — about 11×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sidesInput and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 4/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: parameter count.
  • 4 shared named benchmarks with differing scoresMeasured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, Humanity's Last Exam, Terminal-Bench 2.1, DeepSWE 1.1.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 8 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

Claude Fable 5.1 vs GLM 5.3

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is Claude Fable 5.1 or GLM 5.3 cheaper for input?

GLM 5.3 is cheaper at $1.40 per million input tokens, against $10 for Claude Fable 5.1 — roughly 7.1× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Claude Fable 5.1 has tiered pricing: Priced with Fable 5 at $10/$50 per MTok; cache reads cut 75% to $0.25/MTok. Adaptive thinking always on (default effort high); knowledge cutoff Jun 2026. Sibling Mythos 5.1 launched the same day. GLM 5.3 has tiered pricing: Token API listed at $1.40/$4.40 per MTok from 2026-08-18 (cached input $0.26); Coding Plan access on a points quota. 1M context, 128K max output per official docs; thinking always on. 753B total MoE per the Hugging Face card (active count unpublished).

Is Claude Fable 5.1 or GLM 5.3 cheaper for output?

GLM 5.3 is cheaper at $4.40 per million output tokens, against $50 for Claude Fable 5.1 — roughly 11× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Claude Fable 5.1 has tiered pricing: Priced with Fable 5 at $10/$50 per MTok; cache reads cut 75% to $0.25/MTok. Adaptive thinking always on (default effort high); knowledge cutoff Jun 2026. Sibling Mythos 5.1 launched the same day. GLM 5.3 has tiered pricing: Token API listed at $1.40/$4.40 per MTok from 2026-08-18 (cached input $0.26); Coding Plan access on a points quota. 1M context, 128K max output per official docs; thinking always on. 753B total MoE per the Hugging Face card (active count unpublished).

Which has the larger context window, Claude Fable 5.1 or GLM 5.3?

Both accept about 1M tokens of context, so document length will not decide between them.

Do Claude Fable 5.1 and GLM 5.3 support the same reasoning levels?

Claude Fable 5.1 exposes adaptive, while GLM 5.3 exposes low, high, max.

Should I use Claude Fable 5.1 or GLM 5.3?

Both sit in the frontier tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. Claude Fable 5.1 suits frontier agents; GLM 5.3 suits coding plan subscribers.

Can I self-host Claude Fable 5.1 or GLM 5.3?

GLM 5.3 publishes open weights, but self-hosting and third-party provider access depend on the licence, hardware, serving support, and availability. Claude Fable 5.1 is a closed model whose supported access paths are controlled by its provider.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: GLM 5.3 costs $1.40 per 1M tokens versus $10 for Claude Fable 5.1 — a 7.1x difference at the headline tier.
  • Measured capability: Claude Fable 5.1 leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 66 to 60 (measured 2026-08-14).
  • Deployment: GLM 5.3 publishes weights you can self-host; the other is API-only.

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.