Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

Gemini 3.6 Flash vs GPT-5.4

Google against OpenAI, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.

Catalog record checked September 5, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

Google

Gemini 3.6 Flash

Balanced

vs

OpenAI

GPT-5.4

Balanced

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationGemini 3.6 FlashGPT-5.4
ProviderGoogleOpenAI
TierBalancedBalanced
Context window1MWinner: 1.05M
Max output64KWinner: 128K
Input / 1M tokensWinner: $0.75$2.50
Output / 1M tokensWinner: $3.75$15
WeightsClosedClosed
ParametersNot disclosedUnverifiedNot disclosedUnverified
Reasoning levelslow, medium, highnone, low, medium, high, xhigh, max
Modalitiestext, image, video, audio, pdftext, image
API model idgemini-3.6-flashgpt-5.4
ReleasedJuly 21, 2026March 5, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-08-14)54Not verifiedUnverified
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [xhigh] (2026-08-14)Not verifiedUnverified54
Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-07)78Not verifiedUnverified
DeepSWE 1.1 (2026-07)48.6Not verifiedUnverified
Humanity's Last Exam (2026-08)51.2Not verifiedUnverified

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

Pricing tiers: Gemini 3.6 Flash: $0.75/$3.75 per MTok (intro through 2026-12-31, then $1.50/$7.50). Multimodal input. · GPT-5.4: Standard $2.50/$15 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.25/MTok; batch $1.25/$7.50.

BalancedRecord checked September 5, 2026

Gemini 3.6 Flash

Gemini 3.6 Flash is Google's balanced multimodal Flash tier with a 1M-token context.

Best for

  • Multimodal pipelines
  • High-volume processing
  • Video and audio input

Watch out

Superseded by 3.7 Flash on quality; still a solid mid-tier.

BalancedRecord checked September 3, 2026

GPT-5.4

GPT-5.4 is OpenAI's balanced 2026 workhorse with a 1.05M-token context at $2.50/$15.

Best for

  • General production
  • Agentic workflows
  • Knowledge work

Watch out

A generation behind GPT-5.6; still widely used and well-supported.

When the cheaper one wins

Gemini 3.6 Flash is cheaper on output at $3.75 per million tokens against $15 for GPT-5.4 — about 4.0×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sidesInput and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 4/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: parameter count.
  • 1 shared named benchmark (scores match)Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index — scores are equivalent, so the benchmark does not separate the pair.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 6 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

Gemini 3.6 Flash vs GPT-5.4

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is Gemini 3.6 Flash or GPT-5.4 cheaper for input?

Gemini 3.6 Flash is cheaper at $0.75 per million input tokens, against $2.50 for GPT-5.4 — roughly 3.3× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Gemini 3.6 Flash has tiered pricing: $0.75/$3.75 per MTok (intro through 2026-12-31, then $1.50/$7.50). Multimodal input. GPT-5.4 has tiered pricing: Standard $2.50/$15 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.25/MTok; batch $1.25/$7.50.

Is Gemini 3.6 Flash or GPT-5.4 cheaper for output?

Gemini 3.6 Flash is cheaper at $3.75 per million output tokens, against $15 for GPT-5.4 — roughly 4.0× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Gemini 3.6 Flash has tiered pricing: $0.75/$3.75 per MTok (intro through 2026-12-31, then $1.50/$7.50). Multimodal input. GPT-5.4 has tiered pricing: Standard $2.50/$15 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.25/MTok; batch $1.25/$7.50.

Which has the larger context window, Gemini 3.6 Flash or GPT-5.4?

GPT-5.4 accepts 1.05M tokens against 1M for Gemini 3.6 Flash. This only matters if you routinely send very long documents or large codebases.

Do Gemini 3.6 Flash and GPT-5.4 support the same reasoning levels?

Gemini 3.6 Flash exposes low, medium, high, while GPT-5.4 exposes none, low, medium, high, xhigh, max.

Should I use Gemini 3.6 Flash or GPT-5.4?

Both sit in the balanced tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. Gemini 3.6 Flash suits multimodal pipelines; GPT-5.4 suits general production.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: Gemini 3.6 Flash costs $0.75 per 1M tokens versus $2.50 for GPT-5.4 — a 3.3x difference at the headline tier.
  • Context: GPT-5.4 takes 1.05M against 1M for Gemini 3.6 Flash — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.