Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

GLM 5.3 vs GPT-5.5 Pro

Z.ai against OpenAI, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.

Catalog record checked September 3, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

Z.ai

GLM 5.3

Frontier · Open weights

vs

OpenAI

GPT-5.5 Pro

Frontier

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationGLM 5.3GPT-5.5 Pro
ProviderZ.aiOpenAI
TierFrontierFrontier
Context window1MWinner: 1.05M
Max output128K128K
Input / 1M tokensWinner: $1.40$30
Output / 1M tokensWinner: $4.40$180
WeightsOpenClosed
Parameters753B total (MoE; active count unpublished)Not disclosedUnverified
Reasoning levelslow, high, maxnone, low, medium, high, xhigh, max
Modalitiestexttext, image
Licenseglm-5.3 (custom)Not disclosedUnverified
API model idglm-5.3gpt-5.5-pro
ReleasedAugust 14, 2026April 23, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [max] (2026-08-14)60Not verifiedUnverified
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [xhigh] (2026-08-14)Not verifiedUnverified60
Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-08-14)88.2Not verifiedUnverified
DeepSWE 1.1 (2026-08-14)66.9Not verifiedUnverified
Humanity's Last Exam (2026-08-14)62.5Not verifiedUnverified
SWE-bench Verified (2026-09-01)95.4Not verifiedUnverified

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

Pricing tiers: GLM 5.3: Token API listed at $1.40/$4.40 per MTok from 2026-08-18 (cached input $0.26); Coding Plan access on a points quota. 1M context, 128K max output per official docs; thinking always on. 753B total MoE per the Hugging Face card (active count unpublished). · GPT-5.5 Pro: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.

FrontierOpen weightsRecord checked September 3, 2026

GLM 5.3

GLM 5.3 is Zhipu's flagship (~753B MoE), near the top of the leaderboards, and the current GLM Coding Plan default.

Best for

  • Coding Plan subscribers
  • Long-horizon coding
  • Chinese + English

Watch out

Open weights dropped 2026-08-28 under Z.ai's custom glm-5.3 licence (not a standard open-source licence — review before commercial use; secondary coverage says >$10B-revenue providers need a security review). 5.2/5.1 Coding Plan requests route to 5.3.

FrontierRecord checked September 3, 2026

GPT-5.5 Pro

GPT-5.5 Pro is OpenAI's highest-effort tier for maximal accuracy on the hardest tasks.

Best for

  • Maximum-accuracy reasoning
  • Research
  • Hard enterprise workloads

Watch out

At $30/$180 per MTok it is the most expensive OpenAI tier; reserve for work that needs it.

When the cheaper one wins

GLM 5.3 is cheaper on output at $4.40 per million tokens against $180 for GPT-5.5 Pro — about 41×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sidesInput and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 4/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: parameter count.
  • 1 shared named benchmark (scores match)Measured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index — scores are equivalent, so the benchmark does not separate the pair.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 8 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

GLM 5.3 vs GPT-5.5 Pro

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is GLM 5.3 or GPT-5.5 Pro cheaper for input?

GLM 5.3 is cheaper at $1.40 per million input tokens, against $30 for GPT-5.5 Pro — roughly 21× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GLM 5.3 has tiered pricing: Token API listed at $1.40/$4.40 per MTok from 2026-08-18 (cached input $0.26); Coding Plan access on a points quota. 1M context, 128K max output per official docs; thinking always on. 753B total MoE per the Hugging Face card (active count unpublished). GPT-5.5 Pro has tiered pricing: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.

Is GLM 5.3 or GPT-5.5 Pro cheaper for output?

GLM 5.3 is cheaper at $4.40 per million output tokens, against $180 for GPT-5.5 Pro — roughly 41× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GLM 5.3 has tiered pricing: Token API listed at $1.40/$4.40 per MTok from 2026-08-18 (cached input $0.26); Coding Plan access on a points quota. 1M context, 128K max output per official docs; thinking always on. 753B total MoE per the Hugging Face card (active count unpublished). GPT-5.5 Pro has tiered pricing: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.

Which has the larger context window, GLM 5.3 or GPT-5.5 Pro?

GPT-5.5 Pro accepts 1.05M tokens against 1M for GLM 5.3. This only matters if you routinely send very long documents or large codebases.

Do GLM 5.3 and GPT-5.5 Pro support the same reasoning levels?

GLM 5.3 exposes low, high, max, while GPT-5.5 Pro exposes none, low, medium, high, xhigh, max.

Should I use GLM 5.3 or GPT-5.5 Pro?

Both sit in the frontier tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. GLM 5.3 suits coding plan subscribers; GPT-5.5 Pro suits maximum-accuracy reasoning.

Can I self-host GLM 5.3 or GPT-5.5 Pro?

GLM 5.3 publishes open weights, but self-hosting and third-party provider access depend on the licence, hardware, serving support, and availability. GPT-5.5 Pro is a closed model whose supported access paths are controlled by its provider.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: GLM 5.3 costs $1.40 per 1M tokens versus $30 for GPT-5.5 Pro — a 21.4x difference at the headline tier.
  • Context: GPT-5.5 Pro takes 1.05M against 1M for GLM 5.3 — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
  • Deployment: GLM 5.3 publishes weights you can self-host; the other is API-only.

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.