Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

GLM 5.3 vs Upstage Solar Pro 4

Z.ai against Upstage, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.

Catalog record checked September 3, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

Z.ai

GLM 5.3

Frontier · Open weights

vs

Upstage

Upstage Solar Pro 4

Frontier

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationGLM 5.3Upstage Solar Pro 4
ProviderZ.aiUpstage
TierFrontierFrontier
Context windowWinner: 1M524K
Max output128KNot verifiedUnverified
Input / 1M tokens$1.40Winner: $0.30
Output / 1M tokens$4.40Winner: $1.20
WeightsOpenClosed
Parameters753B total (MoE; active count unpublished)Not disclosedUnverified
Reasoning levelslow, high, maxlow, medium, high
Modalitiestexttext
Licenseglm-5.3 (custom)Not disclosedUnverified
API model idglm-5.3solar-pro-4
ReleasedAugust 14, 2026August 10, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [max] (2026-08-14)60Not verifiedUnverified
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-08-14)Not verifiedUnverified50
Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-08-14)88.2Not verifiedUnverified
DeepSWE 1.1 (2026-08-14)66.9Not verifiedUnverified
Humanity's Last Exam (2026-08-14)62.5Not verifiedUnverified
SWE-bench Verified (2026-09-01)95.4Not verifiedUnverified

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

Pricing tiers: GLM 5.3: Token API listed at $1.40/$4.40 per MTok from 2026-08-18 (cached input $0.26); Coding Plan access on a points quota. 1M context, 128K max output per official docs; thinking always on. 753B total MoE per the Hugging Face card (active count unpublished). · Upstage Solar Pro 4: List $0.30/$1.20 per MTok; live promo rate is $0.03/$0.12 (90% off through 2026-09-10). Closed API. 524K context.

FrontierOpen weightsRecord checked September 3, 2026

GLM 5.3

GLM 5.3 is Zhipu's flagship (~753B MoE), near the top of the leaderboards, and the current GLM Coding Plan default.

Best for

  • Coding Plan subscribers
  • Long-horizon coding
  • Chinese + English

Watch out

Open weights dropped 2026-08-28 under Z.ai's custom glm-5.3 licence (not a standard open-source licence — review before commercial use; secondary coverage says >$10B-revenue providers need a security review). 5.2/5.1 Coding Plan requests route to 5.3.

FrontierRecord checked September 2, 2026

Upstage Solar Pro 4

Solar Pro 4 is Upstage's closed flagship with a 524K context at a low launch price.

Best for

  • Long-context
  • Cost-sensitive API
  • Korean + English

Watch out

Closed API; promo pricing may end.

When the cheaper one wins

Upstage Solar Pro 4 is cheaper on output at $1.20 per million tokens against $4.40 for GLM 5.3 — about 3.7×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sidesInput and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 3/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: max output, parameter count.
  • 1 shared named benchmark with differing scoresMeasured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 8 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

GLM 5.3 vs Upstage Solar Pro 4

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is GLM 5.3 or Upstage Solar Pro 4 cheaper for input?

Upstage Solar Pro 4 is cheaper at $0.30 per million input tokens, against $1.40 for GLM 5.3 — roughly 4.7× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GLM 5.3 has tiered pricing: Token API listed at $1.40/$4.40 per MTok from 2026-08-18 (cached input $0.26); Coding Plan access on a points quota. 1M context, 128K max output per official docs; thinking always on. 753B total MoE per the Hugging Face card (active count unpublished). Upstage Solar Pro 4 has tiered pricing: List $0.30/$1.20 per MTok; live promo rate is $0.03/$0.12 (90% off through 2026-09-10). Closed API. 524K context.

Is GLM 5.3 or Upstage Solar Pro 4 cheaper for output?

Upstage Solar Pro 4 is cheaper at $1.20 per million output tokens, against $4.40 for GLM 5.3 — roughly 3.7× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GLM 5.3 has tiered pricing: Token API listed at $1.40/$4.40 per MTok from 2026-08-18 (cached input $0.26); Coding Plan access on a points quota. 1M context, 128K max output per official docs; thinking always on. 753B total MoE per the Hugging Face card (active count unpublished). Upstage Solar Pro 4 has tiered pricing: List $0.30/$1.20 per MTok; live promo rate is $0.03/$0.12 (90% off through 2026-09-10). Closed API. 524K context.

Which has the larger context window, GLM 5.3 or Upstage Solar Pro 4?

GLM 5.3 accepts 1M tokens against 524K for Upstage Solar Pro 4. This only matters if you routinely send very long documents or large codebases.

Do GLM 5.3 and Upstage Solar Pro 4 support the same reasoning levels?

GLM 5.3 exposes low, high, max, while Upstage Solar Pro 4 exposes low, medium, high.

Should I use GLM 5.3 or Upstage Solar Pro 4?

Both sit in the frontier tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. GLM 5.3 suits coding plan subscribers; Upstage Solar Pro 4 suits long-context.

Can I self-host GLM 5.3 or Upstage Solar Pro 4?

GLM 5.3 publishes open weights, but self-hosting and third-party provider access depend on the licence, hardware, serving support, and availability. Upstage Solar Pro 4 is a closed model whose supported access paths are controlled by its provider.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: Upstage Solar Pro 4 costs $0.30 per 1M tokens versus $1.40 for GLM 5.3 — a 4.7x difference at the headline tier.
  • Context: GLM 5.3 takes 1M against 524K for Upstage Solar Pro 4 — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
  • Measured capability: GLM 5.3 leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 60 to 50 (measured 2026-08-14).
  • Deployment: GLM 5.3 publishes weights you can self-host; the other is API-only.

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.