Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

GPT-5.4 Mini vs GPT-5.5

Two OpenAI tiers compared on the figures that decide which one a workload actually needs.

Catalog record checked September 3, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

OpenAI

GPT-5.4 Mini

Balanced

vs

OpenAI

GPT-5.5

Frontier

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationGPT-5.4 MiniGPT-5.5
ProviderOpenAIOpenAI
TierBalancedFrontier
Context window400KWinner: 1.05M
Max output128K128K
Input / 1M tokensWinner: $0.75$5
Output / 1M tokensWinner: $4.50$30
WeightsClosedClosed
ParametersNot disclosedUnverifiedNot disclosedUnverified
Reasoning levelsnone, low, medium, highnone, low, medium, high, xhigh, max
Modalitiestext, imagetext, image
API model idgpt-5.4-minigpt-5.5
ReleasedMarch 17, 2026April 23, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [high] (2026-08-14)46Not verifiedUnverified
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [xhigh] (2026-08-14)Not verifiedUnverified58
SWE-bench Verified (2026-09-01)Not verifiedUnverified82.6
Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-07-27)Not verifiedUnverified83.4
GPQA Diamond (2026-07-27)Not verifiedUnverified93.5
Humanity's Last Exam (2026-04-23)Not verifiedUnverified52.2

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

  • 2026-09-01: vals.ai SWE-bench Verified leaderboard (independent, mini-swe-agent bash-only); official SWE-bench not publishedReal GitHub issue resolution: does the model's patch pass the hidden tests. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Post-audit vendor claims and pre-audit scores sit on different task trust levels; scaffolding (agent harness, compute budget) also dominates results. Never aggregate across scaffolds.
  • 2026-08-14: Artificial AnalysisComposite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score. Comparability: directly comparable — AA occasionally rebaselines the index scale between snapshots — a score captured on one date is only comparable to same-snapshot scores (check measuredAt).
  • 2026-07-27: Kimi K3 model card (vendor-reported, xhigh); announcement charts show 93.6 — minor conflict preservedAgentic terminal work: multi-step tasks executed in a sandboxed shell environment. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Scores across Terminal-Bench major versions (v1 vs v2) are NOT comparable; harness configuration (container, time limits) also shifts results.
  • 2026-04-23: OpenAI — Introducing GPT-5.5 (vendor, with tools; 41.4 no tools)Frontier-knowledge ceiling: extremely hard multi-domain questions written to be near-impossible without deep expertise. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Subset/tool configurations (text-only vs with-tools) differ between vendors and materially change scores; must match configuration to compare.

Pricing tiers: GPT-5.4 Mini: Standard $0.75/$4.50 per MTok; cached input $0.075/MTok; batch $0.375/$2.25. · GPT-5.5: Standard $5/$30 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.50/MTok; batch $2.50/$15.

BalancedRecord checked September 3, 2026

GPT-5.4 Mini

GPT-5.4 Mini is OpenAI's efficient mid-tier for high-volume, well-scoped tasks at $0.75/$4.50.

Best for

  • High-volume calls
  • Mixed workloads
  • Cost-sensitive production

Watch out

400K context (vs 1.05M on GPT-5.4/5.5/5.6); verify long-context needs.

FrontierRecord checked September 3, 2026

GPT-5.5

GPT-5.5 is OpenAI's previous flagship — strong on Terminal-Bench 2.0 (82.7%) and 1M-token context.

Best for

  • Reasoning
  • Agentic coding
  • Long-context work

Watch out

Superseded by GPT-5.6 Sol on quality; still a capable, widely integrated model.

When the cheaper one wins

GPT-5.4 Mini is cheaper on output at $4.50 per million tokens against $30 for GPT-5.5 — about 6.7×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sidesInput and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 4/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: parameter count.
  • 1 shared named benchmark with differing scoresMeasured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 8 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

GPT-5.4 Mini vs GPT-5.5

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is GPT-5.4 Mini or GPT-5.5 cheaper for input?

GPT-5.4 Mini is cheaper at $0.75 per million input tokens, against $5 for GPT-5.5 — roughly 6.7× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GPT-5.4 Mini has tiered pricing: Standard $0.75/$4.50 per MTok; cached input $0.075/MTok; batch $0.375/$2.25. GPT-5.5 has tiered pricing: Standard $5/$30 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.50/MTok; batch $2.50/$15.

Is GPT-5.4 Mini or GPT-5.5 cheaper for output?

GPT-5.4 Mini is cheaper at $4.50 per million output tokens, against $30 for GPT-5.5 — roughly 6.7× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GPT-5.4 Mini has tiered pricing: Standard $0.75/$4.50 per MTok; cached input $0.075/MTok; batch $0.375/$2.25. GPT-5.5 has tiered pricing: Standard $5/$30 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.50/MTok; batch $2.50/$15.

Which has the larger context window, GPT-5.4 Mini or GPT-5.5?

GPT-5.5 accepts 1.05M tokens against 400K for GPT-5.4 Mini. This only matters if you routinely send very long documents or large codebases.

Do GPT-5.4 Mini and GPT-5.5 support the same reasoning levels?

GPT-5.4 Mini exposes none, low, medium, high, while GPT-5.5 exposes none, low, medium, high, xhigh, max.

Should I use GPT-5.4 Mini or GPT-5.5?

GPT-5.4 Mini is the balanced tier and GPT-5.5 the frontier tier. The useful question is whether your hardest task actually fails on the cheaper one — most production volume such as classification, extraction and summarisation does not.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: GPT-5.4 Mini costs $0.75 per 1M tokens versus $5 for GPT-5.5 — a 6.7x difference at the headline tier.
  • Context: GPT-5.5 takes 1.05M against 400K for GPT-5.4 Mini — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
  • Measured capability: GPT-5.5 leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 58 to 46 (measured 2026-08-14).
  • Positioning: GPT-5.4 Mini sits in the balanced tier, GPT-5.5 in the frontier tier — most production volume (classification, extraction, summarisation) does not need the pricier tier.

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.