Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

GPT-5.5 vs GPT-5.5 Pro

Two OpenAI tiers compared on the figures that decide which one a workload actually needs.

Catalog record checked September 3, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

OpenAI

GPT-5.5

Frontier

vs

OpenAI

GPT-5.5 Pro

Frontier

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationGPT-5.5GPT-5.5 Pro
ProviderOpenAIOpenAI
TierFrontierFrontier
Context window1.05M1.05M
Max output128K128K
Input / 1M tokensWinner: $5$30
Output / 1M tokensWinner: $30$180
WeightsClosedClosed
ParametersNot disclosedUnverifiedNot disclosedUnverified
Reasoning levelsnone, low, medium, high, xhigh, maxnone, low, medium, high, xhigh, max
Modalitiestext, imagetext, image
API model idgpt-5.5gpt-5.5-pro
ReleasedApril 23, 2026April 23, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [xhigh] (2026-08-14)58Winner: 60
SWE-bench Verified (2026-09-01)82.6Not verifiedUnverified
Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-07-27)83.4Not verifiedUnverified
GPQA Diamond (2026-07-27)93.5Not verifiedUnverified
Humanity's Last Exam (2026-04-23)52.2Not verifiedUnverified

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

  • 2026-09-01: vals.ai SWE-bench Verified leaderboard (independent, mini-swe-agent bash-only); official SWE-bench not publishedReal GitHub issue resolution: does the model's patch pass the hidden tests. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Post-audit vendor claims and pre-audit scores sit on different task trust levels; scaffolding (agent harness, compute budget) also dominates results. Never aggregate across scaffolds.
  • 2026-08-14: Artificial AnalysisComposite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score. Comparability: directly comparable — AA occasionally rebaselines the index scale between snapshots — a score captured on one date is only comparable to same-snapshot scores (check measuredAt).
  • 2026-07-27: Kimi K3 model card (vendor-reported, xhigh); announcement charts show 93.6 — minor conflict preservedAgentic terminal work: multi-step tasks executed in a sandboxed shell environment. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Scores across Terminal-Bench major versions (v1 vs v2) are NOT comparable; harness configuration (container, time limits) also shifts results.
  • 2026-04-23: OpenAI — Introducing GPT-5.5 (vendor, with tools; 41.4 no tools)Frontier-knowledge ceiling: extremely hard multi-domain questions written to be near-impossible without deep expertise. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Subset/tool configurations (text-only vs with-tools) differ between vendors and materially change scores; must match configuration to compare.

Pricing tiers: GPT-5.5: Standard $5/$30 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.50/MTok; batch $2.50/$15. · GPT-5.5 Pro: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.

FrontierRecord checked September 3, 2026

GPT-5.5

GPT-5.5 is OpenAI's previous flagship — strong on Terminal-Bench 2.0 (82.7%) and 1M-token context.

Best for

  • Reasoning
  • Agentic coding
  • Long-context work

Watch out

Superseded by GPT-5.6 Sol on quality; still a capable, widely integrated model.

FrontierRecord checked September 3, 2026

GPT-5.5 Pro

GPT-5.5 Pro is OpenAI's highest-effort tier for maximal accuracy on the hardest tasks.

Best for

  • Maximum-accuracy reasoning
  • Research
  • Hard enterprise workloads

Watch out

At $30/$180 per MTok it is the most expensive OpenAI tier; reserve for work that needs it.

When the cheaper one wins

GPT-5.5 is cheaper on output at $30 per million tokens against $180 for GPT-5.5 Pro — about 6.0×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sidesInput and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 4/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: parameter count.
  • 1 shared named benchmark with differing scoresMeasured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 8 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

GPT-5.5 vs GPT-5.5 Pro

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is GPT-5.5 or GPT-5.5 Pro cheaper for input?

GPT-5.5 is cheaper at $5 per million input tokens, against $30 for GPT-5.5 Pro — roughly 6.0× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GPT-5.5 has tiered pricing: Standard $5/$30 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.50/MTok; batch $2.50/$15. GPT-5.5 Pro has tiered pricing: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.

Is GPT-5.5 or GPT-5.5 Pro cheaper for output?

GPT-5.5 is cheaper at $30 per million output tokens, against $180 for GPT-5.5 Pro — roughly 6.0× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; GPT-5.5 has tiered pricing: Standard $5/$30 per MTok; >272K input billed 2x in / 1.5x out. Cached input $0.50/MTok; batch $2.50/$15. GPT-5.5 Pro has tiered pricing: Standard $30/$180 per MTok; no cached-input discount. Batch $15/$90.

Which has the larger context window, GPT-5.5 or GPT-5.5 Pro?

Both accept about 1.05M tokens of context, so document length will not decide between them.

Do GPT-5.5 and GPT-5.5 Pro support the same reasoning levels?

Yes — both accept the same effort settings: "none", "low", "medium", "high", "xhigh", "max". Higher effort costs more and takes longer, so start low and raise it only where output quality actually improves.

Should I use GPT-5.5 or GPT-5.5 Pro?

Both sit in the frontier tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. GPT-5.5 suits reasoning; GPT-5.5 Pro suits maximum-accuracy reasoning.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: GPT-5.5 costs $5 per 1M tokens versus $30 for GPT-5.5 Pro — a 6x difference at the headline tier.
  • Measured capability: GPT-5.5 Pro leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 60 to 58 (measured 2026-08-14).

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.