Skip to main content
AI Choice EngineAI Choice Engine

Model comparison

Grok 4.6 vs Upstage Solar Pro 4

xAI against Upstage, compared on context, price, and verified benchmark results.

Catalog record checked September 3, 2026Individual provider fields may changeEvidence confidence: High — see receipts below

xAI

Grok 4.6

Frontier

vs

Upstage

Upstage Solar Pro 4

Frontier

AI model capability comparison
SpecificationGrok 4.6Upstage Solar Pro 4
ProviderxAIUpstage
TierFrontierFrontier
Context window500KWinner: 524K
Max output131KNot verifiedUnverified
Input / 1M tokens$2Winner: $0.30
Output / 1M tokens$6Winner: $1.20
WeightsClosedClosed
ParametersNot disclosedUnverifiedNot disclosedUnverified
Reasoning levelslow, medium, high, xhighlow, medium, high
Modalitiestext, imagetext
API model idgrok-4.6solar-pro-4
ReleasedAugust 12, 2026August 10, 2026
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index [high] (2026-08-14)61Not verifiedUnverified
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index (2026-08-14)Not verifiedUnverified50
Terminal-Bench 2.1 (2026-08-18)88Not verifiedUnverified
GPQA Diamond (2026-08-18)94.9Not verifiedUnverified

Prices are USD per million tokens at standard rates, excluding batch and caching discounts. Bold indicates the better figure where one is objectively better. Values we could not confirm from the provider are shown as “Not verified” rather than estimated.

Benchmark receipts

  • 2026-08-18: Artificial Analysis measurement (independent; tied 1st with Gemini 3.7 Flash high)Agentic terminal work: multi-step tasks executed in a sandboxed shell environment. Comparability: comparable with caveat — Scores across Terminal-Bench major versions (v1 vs v2) are NOT comparable; harness configuration (container, time limits) also shifts results.
  • 2026-08-14: Artificial AnalysisComposite index blending reasoning, knowledge, and coding evals into one 0–100 score. Comparability: directly comparable — AA occasionally rebaselines the index scale between snapshots — a score captured on one date is only comparable to same-snapshot scores (check measuredAt).

Pricing tiers: Grok 4.6: $2/$6 per MTok (<200K prompt); $4/$12 (≥200K). Cached input $0.50/MTok. Knowledge cutoff Feb 1 2026. · Upstage Solar Pro 4: List $0.30/$1.20 per MTok; live promo rate is $0.03/$0.12 (90% off through 2026-09-10). Closed API. 524K context.

FrontierRecord checked September 3, 2026

Grok 4.6

Grok 4.6 is xAI's current flagship coding model, strong on LMArena WebDev.

Best for

  • Coding agents
  • Chat and knowledge
  • Cost-sensitive frontier work

Watch out

Token rates double above a 200K-token prompt.

FrontierRecord checked September 2, 2026

Upstage Solar Pro 4

Solar Pro 4 is Upstage's closed flagship with a 524K context at a low launch price.

Best for

  • Long-context
  • Cost-sensitive API
  • Korean + English

Watch out

Closed API; promo pricing may end.

When the cheaper one wins

Upstage Solar Pro 4 is cheaper on output at $1.20 per million tokens against $6 for Grok 4.6 — about 5.0×. Use the cheaper tier for classification, extraction, summarisation, and any task where the expensive model’s extra score does not change the accepted output. The expensive one only pays if your hardest task actually fails on the cheap tier. These are standard-tier API rates, excluding batch and cache discounts.

Run the model picker

Evidence confidence: High

How strong and complete the evidence behind this comparison is — not a prediction of which model is better.

  • Pricing verified on both sidesInput and output rates are verified for both models.
  • 3/5 core specs verified on both sidesNot published for at least one side: max output, parameter count.
  • 1 shared named benchmark with differing scoresMeasured on: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index.
  • Verified within the last 90 daysNewest catalog check was 8 days ago.
  • Both models carry source citationsEach side has at least two catalog sources on record.

Source receipts

Each catalog figure was checked against the provider or an independent second source on the date shown.

Common questions

Grok 4.6 vs Upstage Solar Pro 4

Answered from the verified figures on this page rather than general guidance.

Is Grok 4.6 or Upstage Solar Pro 4 cheaper for input?

Upstage Solar Pro 4 is cheaper at $0.30 per million input tokens, against $2 for Grok 4.6 — roughly 6.7× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Grok 4.6 has tiered pricing: $2/$6 per MTok (<200K prompt); $4/$12 (≥200K). Cached input $0.50/MTok. Knowledge cutoff Feb 1 2026. Upstage Solar Pro 4 has tiered pricing: List $0.30/$1.20 per MTok; live promo rate is $0.03/$0.12 (90% off through 2026-09-10). Closed API. 524K context.

Is Grok 4.6 or Upstage Solar Pro 4 cheaper for output?

Upstage Solar Pro 4 is cheaper at $1.20 per million output tokens, against $6 for Grok 4.6 — roughly 5.0× the price. Output tokens usually dominate a real bill, so weigh the output rate more heavily than the input rate. These are base rates; Grok 4.6 has tiered pricing: $2/$6 per MTok (<200K prompt); $4/$12 (≥200K). Cached input $0.50/MTok. Knowledge cutoff Feb 1 2026. Upstage Solar Pro 4 has tiered pricing: List $0.30/$1.20 per MTok; live promo rate is $0.03/$0.12 (90% off through 2026-09-10). Closed API. 524K context.

Which has the larger context window, Grok 4.6 or Upstage Solar Pro 4?

Upstage Solar Pro 4 accepts 524K tokens against 500K for Grok 4.6. This only matters if you routinely send very long documents or large codebases.

Do Grok 4.6 and Upstage Solar Pro 4 support the same reasoning levels?

Grok 4.6 exposes low, medium, high, xhigh, while Upstage Solar Pro 4 exposes low, medium, high.

Should I use Grok 4.6 or Upstage Solar Pro 4?

Both sit in the frontier tier, so the choice usually comes down to price and context rather than capability. Grok 4.6 suits coding agents; Upstage Solar Pro 4 suits long-context.

Next step

Choosing between them

The verified figures that separate this pair, computed from the catalog rather than restated boilerplate.

  • Input price: Upstage Solar Pro 4 costs $0.30 per 1M tokens versus $2 for Grok 4.6 — a 6.7x difference at the headline tier.
  • Context: Upstage Solar Pro 4 takes 524K against 500K for Grok 4.6 — only decisive if your prompts approach the smaller window.
  • Measured capability: Grok 4.6 leads Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index 61 to 50 (measured 2026-08-14).

Choosing a harness rather than a model — Cursor, Copilot, Claude Code, Windsurf, or Lovable? Compare agentic harnesses · Latest releases.